Peach Trifle

And now for something new and completely different, dessert.  I don’t often make desserts because I’m not a dessert person and I find the preparation, many times, too fiddly.  When I do make a dessert, it’s usual easy and something I’d like to eat.

I found this recipe in this month’s French Saveurs magazine.  I wanted to eat it and it was easy to make.  So voila!

Peach Trifle

1 liter water

100 g sugar

1 bouquet mint

3 peaches, peeled, seeded and halved

3 peaches, peeled, seeded and chopped

1 tbsp cane sugar

5 cl water

Seeds from 1 vanilla pod

200 g fromage blanc

60 g powdered sugar

10 cl heavy cream, whipped

2 meringues, chopped

Pistachio nuts, chopped

Make a syrup with the sugar, water and mint by heating to dissolve the sugar.  Add the peach halves and poach for 10 minutes.  Set aside and allow to cool.

Cook the chopped peaches with the sugar and water for about 2 minutes, then blend to make a coulis.  Set aside and allow to cool.

Mix the vanilla seeds with the fromage blanc and sugar.  Fold the whipped cream into the mixture.

In four dessert glasses, layer the peach halves, the fromage blanc, some pieces of meringue and then the coulis.  Do this twice, topping with more fromage blanc and sprinkle with pistachio nuts.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Dessert, Food and Wine, French, Fruit, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to Peach Trifle

  1. Yum. Yum. Yum. This is exactly my idea of what a summer dessert should be — all about fruit, with a little cream, sugar, vanilla and nuts on the side.

  2. Very nice! An idea for the next trifle. Thanks!

  3. MixerUpper says:

    That looks divine! Our peaches have been so wonderful this season – I will have to try this recipe. Take a look at my recent peach endeavor – peach-infused vodka: http://mixerupper.com/2012/07/08/homemade-peach-infused-vodka/
    Not exactly dessert, but you know, whatever… 😉

  4. Michelle says:

    I am on my way, lol this dessert looks so delicious I am salivating at the mouth.

  5. Good looking pudding – I could happily eat that.

  6. Oh wow. I did not exact that, Rosemary. Very nice, light and simple. Perfect 😀

  7. Yum, I’m not a pudding person either (in terms of making pudding, I’ll happily eat it) – mainly because I cannot resist tinkering with any recipe I attempt to follow and those baking peeps have to be so precise!

  8. That’s the reason I hardly ever bake. Precision is important. Desserts like this one, you can tinker if you want. I did 🙂

  9. This looks delicious!!!

  10. Tessa says:

    Pretty trifles! I really like the glasses that they are in.

  11. Like you, I´m not big on desserts, but just mention trifle and I´ll come running with my (big) spoon!

  12. So pretty and delicious looking! I’m so looking forward to peaches. Another couple of weeks before they ar ready here.

  13. Very nicely done. Great display.

  14. What a great dessert and it makes use of mint and peaches, which are so good right now.

  15. Such a pretty and delicious dessert! Love those serving glasses too.

  16. Karista says:

    I’m the same, don’t usually make dessert because it takes too much time or if I made it I’d eat all of it. These look perfectly delicious however, and I’m absolutely making them this weekend. Yum!

  17. Yep, had to bookmark this one to try with all the plethora of fresh peaches we have here this summer, plus mint in the garden. Thanks!

  18. Mad Dog says:

    They do look fantastic, especially in your lovely glasses 😉

  19. Pingback: Sunday Sparkle: 15th July « Beast & Beauty

  20. You should make desserts more often, apparently! Such a beautiful presentation and I would expect nothing less from you 🙂

  21. rsmacaalay says:

    I will definitely do anything for a serving of those, just look at that!

  22. ambrosiana says:

    That looks beautiful, delicious and so refreshing= perfect summer dessert!

Leave a Reply

