Duck Breast with Fresh Borlotti Beans

I haven’t always had access to fresh beans.  What a pity because fresh beans cook up faster and creamier.  The borlotti bean is a relative of the kidney bean, but you wouldn’t think it.  The kidney is the “bush baby”(John Deere) of beans; big, red and offensive in a chili.  Sorry to anyone who makes this kind of chili. 🙂  Really.  Mea culpa 🙂

Then you have the fresh borlotti bean, rival to the mogettes of Vendee (can’t wait until it’s the season), a gourmet queen of a bean that can hold it’s own with the elegant duck breast.  It’s a shame, but I didn’t get any pictures of the finished beans in a pretty bowl because I was preparing lunch, food for the block party and getting my hair done at the same time.  I had decided to use the recipe I found in this month’s Saveurs but as I was preparing the beans, I took issue.  No onion, no garlic, no bay leaf!  Not possible!  Taking matters into my own hands, I sauteed some onion and garlic but then realized that the rosemary called for would elevate these beans to an eminence far beyond my rustic bay leaf.  Rosemary, garlic and onion, yes.  I’m making these beans again, with pictures, in a pretty bowl!

Duck Breast with Fresh Borlotti Beans

2 tbsp brown sugar

1/2 inch fresh ginger, chopped

1 garlic clove chopped

1/2 cup soy sauce

Juice of 1/2 lemon

1 duck breast, fat scored in a diamond pattern

1/2 onion, thinly sliced

2 garlic cloves, chopped

1 tbsp olive oil

2 cups of fresh borlotti beans, shelled

3 cups of chicken broth

2 tops of fresh rosemary sprigs

Salt and pepper

Mix the brown sugar, ginger, garlic, soy sauce and lemon juice together, then pour over the duck breast and set aside.

Saute the onion and garlic in the olive oil.  Add the beans, broth, rosemary sprigs, salt and pepper.  Cook for 40 minutes.

Sear the duck breast in a hot, pretty, cast iron  skillet like Frugal’s, about 4 minutes per side.  Serve with the beans.

Wine suggestion: Bourgogne Aligote

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Duck Breast with Fresh Borlotti Beans

  1. I LOVE beans SO much. I could eat them all day. You know, Rosemary, I’ve only ever seen you cook duck to perfection. I’m glad you’re not one of these people who cremate it.

  2. clumsylawyer says:

    This looks incredible. I can’t really get hold of fresh beans, other than runners and broad beans from my in-laws’ allotment. Definitely something to keep an eye out for.

  3. Spoon Feast says:

    Lovely duck breast Sens!
    Nice to see it not overdone. As always, great photos.

  4. Mad Dog says:

    That’s perfect duck! I love all beans – even the kidney variety 😉

  5. Fresh Borlotti are fabulous, we dont see them in the shops here, but then I grow ours, just planted this years batch out. And yes to garlic, rosemary, bay leaf etc – a real meaty bean! And now I’m curious about the mogettes of Vendee ?!

  6. Those beans look amazing. I don’t recall seeing them around here, but I can dream!

  7. I’m glad you took matters into your own hands! The dish looks absolutely amazing. You are a pro at duck!

    And at perfectly cooked beans too. Fresh borlotti beans are so pretty!

  8. Even though I put kidney beans in my chili, I still have enough good taste to recognize a gorgeous plate. 🙂

  9. Aren’t Borlotti beans fantastic looking. I once did a shot for Habitat which was to include Borlotti beans. There were none to be had, so the art director hand painted ordinary haricots – pods and all:)

  10. I have no idea whether I would enjoy eating these beans, but I love looking at the scarlet pods and the speckles in your photo.

  11. rsmacaalay says:

    That duck breasts looks perfectly cooked, so drooling over it

  12. Great recipe and wonderful pictures!

  13. Pingback: Tuscan Bean Soup « From the Hobbit Hole Kitchen

  14. Thanks for directing me here! I love this post, and the story. I agree with you on the kidney beans! And I never put them in my chili – for one, they don’t become meltingly tender and one with the group, sharing the flavor and the texture like other beans do. They’re like that one smart alec in a group that always just has to be upfront and center, sucking up all the attention!

Leave a Reply

