Crab Quiche


I found a new plate at the 3 Musketeer grocery store for 2 Euros.  You can’t see it, but it’s got a little purple chicken in the center.  Cute.  That’s why I made this breakfast.  And there was that Charolais ground steak patty in the freezer.

For lunch, I decided to kill two freezer birds with one stone, thawing a package of  pre-rolled pastry and frozen crab meat to make a quiche.  This turned out really well with the herbs and the last minute sprinkling of chopped roasted peppers.

Hearty!  Oh look, you can vaguely see the chicken.

Crab quiche?  You can put a little in my dish.  But I’ve heard the quiche thing is passe.

Crab Quiche

1 pre-rolled package of puff pastry

4 eggs

2 cups cream

2 tbsp parsley, chopped

2 tbsp cilantro, chopped

2 tbsp chives, chopped

1/2 tsp Emeril’s essence

Pinch of nutmeg

Salt

Pepper

1 cup Emmenthal, grated

1 1/2 cup crab meat

2 tbsp roasted red bell pepper, chopped

Place the pastry in a pie plate and bake at 375 F for 12 minutes.  Remove and allow to cool.

Beat the eggs, cream, herbs and spices together, then stir in the cheese and crab.  Pour into the pastry shell.  Sprinkle with the roasted pepper.  Bake the quiche in the 375 F oven for 40 minutes.  Remove and allow to rest for 15 minutes before slicing.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Crab Quiche

  1. Mad Dog says:

    It’s good to see your assistant looking happy. That crab quiche looks delicious 😉

  2. Tessa says:

    Your crab quiche looks fabulous! I’ve never made quiche using puff pastry before. What a cool idea!

  3. I absolutely adore that cat… I really do. Beautiful quiche too. I shall have to get myself some crab. There are so many ingredients I forget about… Delicious, Rosemary. I’ll swap you my skillet for that cat.

  4. Your quiche looks lovely and I love the idea of using crab, Emmenthal and green herbs to make quiche a bit more modern and sophisticated. I was wondering what Emeril’s essence is? Your able assistant is looking ready help with the cleaning up and pounce on any left over crab. Thanks for sharing the great recipe

  5. Crab quiche looks wonderful! And so does your steak and eggs. Very delicious indeed.

    And I see that you took a little essence of Emeril with you abroad 🙂

  6. Cath says:

    Hi,

    I’m back. I couldn’t resist writing a comment. That cat is so adorable! I’m allergic to crabs but then again I can substitute that with something else, right?

  7. Conor Bofin says:

    I went out and spent a few bob on a variety of plates recently. Most of them are sitting in the press waiting for me to cook something that will look ‘right’ on them. In one case, I spent 50 cent more than you did on your lovely chicken plate. Hmmmm.
    Best,
    Conor

  8. Wait do I have to race with that Cat? I will settle for a quiet dinner.

  9. Love that plate, and your crab quiche looks delicious! Did your friend ever get to taste test it? 🙂

  10. Wow great job, loving the Crab Quiche. Going to have to try this recipe.

  11. rsmacaalay says:

    I never had used crab in quiche, I think that would be great as we have a recipe called crab relleno and its like a crab omelette so this recipe of yours would make sense and definitely would be an easy favourite at home

  12. That looks light and fluffy and rich all at once. I love that you used puff pastry for the crust. Great recipe.

  13. Spoon Feast says:

    Your freezer has some treasures in it! I am making a goat cheese and leek quiche today. Love quiche!

  14. I love the freezer theme 🙂

  15. Pingback: Potted Crab (Our Best Ever) | A Letter from Pimlco

Leave a Reply

