Cauliflower and Sweet Potato Gratin

This vegetable casserole was dictated by the Comte cheese in the freezer and the cauliflower and sweet potato in the refrigerator.  I’ve done a gratin like this with romanesco https://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2012/03/16/empty-cupboard-syndrome-romanesco-and-sweet-potatoes/.  This time I decided to skip the bread crumbs and go “au naturel”.  Glad I did.

I guess I’m a carnivorous omnivore.  I love meat but everything else that’s fresh and well prepared is also fair game.  Pun.  Look at these vegetables.  We were ready to eat them just as they were but there was that Comte to be gotten through.  I made two extras to share with the Parrets.  We kept the big ones 🙂

Okay, we did also decide to split a leftover smoked pork https://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2012/04/30/smoked-and-spicy-travers-du-porc-with-coleslaw/ sandwich which was a mistake.  We each should have had a WHOLE one! The meaty portion of the travers du porc is perfect for slicing.

Cauliflower and Sweet Potato Gratin

1 small cauliflower, separated into florets

1 medium sweet potato, halved vertically and sliced

Salt and pepper

2 tbsp parsley, chopped

3 tbsp butter

1/2 onion, finely chopped

2 garlic cloves, finely chopped

3 tbsp flour

2 1/2 cups milk

A pinch of nutmeg

Salt and pepper

1/2 cup Comte cheese, grated

Steam the cauliflower and sweet potato for 5 minutes.  Remove from the steamer and divide between four large individual ramekins.  Season with salt, pepper and sprinkle with the parsley.  Set aside.

Melt the butter in a sauce pan, add the onion and garlic, then saute until the onion is soft.  Add the flour and stir to blend.  Cook for about 1-2 minutes, being carefully not to brown the flour.  Gradually pour in the milk, whisking constantly until the sauce has thickened.  Remove from the flame, add the nutmeg, salt and pepper and cheese, blending until the cheese has melted.

Pour the sauce over the vegetables and bake for 15-20 minutes in a 425 F oven until brown and bubbly.

Wine suggestion:  Cremant du Bourgogne

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Cauliflower and Sweet Potato Gratin

  1. This all looks beautiful. Really nice photography!

  2. Mad Dog says:

    How delicious!

  3. I love, love cauliflower. Love this recipe…

  4. debjani says:

    Beautiful pictures! Is that a Lilly of the valey on the background?

  5. Wonderful, Rosemary. Love the bowl thingy… I bought 3 bowls today for £2 – they are lovely. You’re sure to see one in a couple of hours.

  6. Tessa says:

    Looks delish! I’m now on the hunt for comte cheese…. Never had it before.

  7. chefconnie says:

    Love your gratin. I prefer them without bread crumbs also. It just muddles the favors. Sweet potato and cauliflower. Good combo. I made one with roasted butternut squash and califlower. The sweet component of the potato is good.

  8. Jon says:

    Sounds like a great combination.

  9. ceciliag says:

    OK! Perfect fro my dinner too! nice!.. c

  10. I love comte. And as usual i love your cooking and photography. Great recipe Rosemary.
    Cheers
    Marcus

  11. Conor Bofin says:

    We have subscribed to Lynda.com in the office. I am following some of their photography tutorials when I get the chance. I now have visions of you carefully placing wire supports into the napkins, glueing tomato slices into the sandwichs and using a syringe to fill the perfectly polished glasses. What I am trying to say is – Beautiful photos as always.
    Best,
    Conor

  12. This looks like a great combination of flavors.

  13. Plates of Art says:

    Great way to use cauliflower! I also want to put some broccoli in it!

  14. Karista says:

    Two of my favorite ingredients. This looks delicious and then get’s even more delicious topped with Comte. You always make me hungry. 🙂

  15. Karen says:

    I love you combination of sweet potato and cauliflower…so colorful.

  16. I adore comte and cauliflower (can´t get comte here though 😦 ) I will quite happily come round and help you get to the bottom of your freezer!

  17. You and your many dishes and I mean that in multiple ways!

  18. katyarich says:

    Cauliflower gratin is a great and delicious dish and I like that you add sweet potato, just great idea;) have a lovely weekend!

  19. I love your veggie gratins.. I’m on a new “healthy” eating kick and I believe this one would fit the bill.. and it’s gourmet! I puzzled when you wrote “mistake” and was happy to see all was well with your second dish:D It looked awesome to me!! xo Smidge

  20. Pingback: Creole Seasoned Baked Chicken with Vegetable Gratin | Cooking in Sens

  21. Lemon poppy says:

    Just made this tonight and it was delicious. I didn’t have onions so used leeks instead. Thanks for the recipe. I enjoy your reading your blog

Leave a Reply

