Panna Cotta with Strawberry Coulis

Tomorrow I’ve invited a few people over for lunch and thought I’d get a head start on the strawberry panna cotta.  The white chocolate base is perfect with this fresh, gariguette strawberry coulis.  My kind of dessert; easy and do ahead.

Just like last year, it was impossible to find white eggs to color.  I guess, in France, an egg is brown or it’s American 🙂  So I colored quail eggs again.  No hardship, I like the way they look.

Strawberry Coulis Panna Cotta

275 g white chocolate, chopped

600 mls cream

1/3 cup sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 tbsp boiling water

2 tsp gelatin

250 g plain Greek yogurt

2 lbs strawberries, quartered (take 10 whole out for decoration)

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup boiling water

Combine chocolate, cream, sugar and vanilla in a sauce pan over low heat.    Cook and stir until chocolate is melted and the mixture is smooth and heated through.   Set aside for 5 minutes.  Dissolve the gelatin in 2 tbsp boiling water, set aside and allow to cool slightly. Add gelatin to cream mixture, stir and set aside for 15 minutes.   Whisk in the yogurt. Pour into lightly oiled custard glasses and refrigerate for at least 4 hours.

Bring the strawberries, sugar and water to a simmer, remove from heat, cool and refrigerate.

To serve, top the panna cotta with the coulis and a whole, partially sliced strawberry.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Dessert, Food and Wine, French, Fruit, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Panna Cotta with Strawberry Coulis

  1. Karen says:

    Rosemary, your panna cotta looks delicious and oh so pretty. I like your little quail eggs too.

  2. Rachel says:

    The quail eggs are beauuuuutiful! How do you do that? All the quail eggs I see here (Texas) are brown or speckled! Wow… and do you still eat them? I love ’em… but these are sooo pretty!

  3. Love the pannacotta, such a lovely taste of summer.
    Will have to have a go at those coloured quail eggs, we should be getting loads to experiment with soon. 🙂
    Cheers
    Marcus

  4. Tessa says:

    Beautiful dessert! And those quail eggs are too darn cute. Have a Happy Easter!

  5. Who needs a skillet when you can have these pretty panna cotta cups:) I adore your pretty little eggs.. precious!!

  6. Wow, look at that glass. I hadn’t really noticed it, but now it’s right above my comment. Very pretty. I love do-ahead desserts and this looks wonderful!

  7. chefconnie says:

    Yes. Love panna cotta. The only one I did not like was a peach one that I made. Despite the use of fresh peaches it strangely turned out tasting fake peach. It was wierd. Strawberry panna cotta sounds devine.

  8. Debbie says:

    Beautiful post.

  9. The quails’ eggs look beautiful – so much more delicate than decorated hens’ eggs – and garriguette strawberries are the best!

  10. Mm. White chocolate and cream go so well together. Lovely dyed quail eggs, too — delicate.

  11. Nice recipe. I think panna cotta is too rich by itself. The strawberry topping looks like the perfect balance.

  12. Happy Easter, Rosemary! This sounds like a tuly wonderful dessert, I do hope it goes down well.

  13. A beautiful panna cotta (one of my favourite desserts) and beautiful eggs. Happy Easter to you and your family!

  14. What a wonderful looking dessert…so evocative of Spring, and I love the use of the seasons strawberries. I will try this one for sure. Happy Easter to you!

  15. The panna cotta looks perfect for spring. I love these kinds of do-ahead desserts too! And the quail Easter eggs are adorable!

  16. rsmacaalay says:

    Wow that dessert looks awesome! I cant stop staring at it

  17. Scrambled Megs says:

    Your quail eggs are so good! You’re so creative, I love it x

  18. What a great idea to use quail eggs – I gave up on dyeing brown eggs this year, but will definitely try the quail eggs next year! where do you get your dyes from in France?

  19. Pingback: Premio Cake Blog di Qualità « Spoon Feast

Leave a Reply

