Panini Grilled Tuna Steaks with Avocado Tomato Salsa

I found some nice tuna steaks at the fishmonger today and wondered how I could cook them with out firing up the grill.  The grills and the smoker are just not getting used until my husband comes home in May to help me get them back in running order!

So, knowing how much Roger http://stowell.wordpress.com/ loves gadgets, I thought of my panini grill.  See Roger, that’s why I have all this stuff, for when I can’t be bothered  🙂

Today, Wednesday, is little market day in Sens.  Still, they had some nice fruits and we bought a barquette of succulent strawberries.  Of course, M. Parret is refusing to buy strawberries now because it’s not the strawberry season in France yet and these come from Spain.  Old school.  No dessert for you Monsieur “La Patrie ou la mort!”

The recipe for the salsa can be found here https://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2011/06/13/salmon-with-avocado-salsa/

Panini Grilled Tuna Steaks

4 fresh tuna steaks

Salt and pepper

1/4 cup olive oil

1 tbsp soy sauce

1 tbsp lemon juice

1 tbsp lime juice

1 garlic clove, grated

1/2 inch fresh ginger, grated

Season the tuna steaks with salt and pepper.  Mix the olive oil, soy sauce, lemon and lime juices, garlic cove and ginger together, than pour over tuna steaks.  Allow to marinate for 2 hours.

Preheat the panini grill to 220 F, add marinated tuna steaks and grill for 4-5 minutes.  Serve with avocado tomato salsa and mangetouts.

Wine suggestion:  Petit Chablis

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Asian, Cooking, fish, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Panini Grilled Tuna Steaks with Avocado Tomato Salsa

  1. cjdelgrosso says:

    I absolutely love Tuna steaks. Nice post!

  2. chefconnie says:

    Love the tuna on the panini grill. You are so full of cooking innovations. I am still loving the whole deal with hanging the chicken on S hooks. Isn’t this what the French call System D?

  3. Lovely photos as always. I think you have inspired me to get a new camera, although I will still struggle to come anywhere close to your beautiful photos.

    • Thank you. I took pictures for a while with a point and shoot until I was sure that I was serious about taking food photos. I then bought a Canon Rebel and booked myself into a photography course with Roger Stowell in the Vendee, France. http://stowell.wordpress.com/ He taught me how to use the camera and about the importance of focus and light. I’m going back!

  4. I can’t believe yet another piece of cool kit – all you need is to recruit a band of simple good cooks (not chefs) instead of the stainless steel.

  5. Local strawberries or not, those look absolutely perfect! It’s not ever avocado season in France either, so does that mean that you never eat an avocado?

    And it is another stroke of genius to use a panini press for tuna. It looks like you got some beautiful grill marks on it!

  6. Wonderful, Sens. I love the cooking method, it must do justice to the incredible flavour of a tuna steak. You eat too well sometimes :D. I think your blog gives me a romantic vision of Sens – I’d totally love to visit it, though that’s unlikely to happen yet…

  7. Tessa says:

    Gorgeous berries!

  8. Reblogged this on Pursuit of Ginger and commented:
    Mmmm i love tuna steaks! This recipe looks amaaazing.

  9. Your dish screams summer, and I am ready!

  10. You really do have it all in your kitchen! This looks delicious!

  11. What a great idea to use the panini grill for the tuna! It looks delicious, and is making me really want some tuna…with the salsa of course.

  12. What a brilliant idea! Lovely recipe too but you made me smile about the strawberries…the Spanish are the the same where I live and refuse to eat fruit from “foreign parts”!

Leave a Reply

