Mesquite and Tea Smoked Duck Salad

I was wandering around the garage, looking for some saran wrap when I happened upon my stove top smoker.

These are really great when you have a small amount to smoke and you just can’t be bothered to rev up the big boy smoker and/or don’t have a garden to put one in.  Like in an apartment.  I had four duck legs that I marinated overnight that fit perfectly inside the smoker.  I won’t tell you about the marinade; it was okay but not fabulous.

The smoker can fit on one burner or two.  I’ve done it both ways and it doesn’t matter.

Smoked duck with a fabulous marinade is great for both salads and sandwiches.  The simple dressing I made redeemed the less than marvelous marinade.

Smoked Duck Salad

1 smoked duck leg, sliced

1 spring onion, thinly sliced

1/2 small red onion, thinly sliced

2 small orange tomatoes, seeded and cut into chunks

Leaves from 5 sprigs of fresh coriander

1 handful roquette or mache

2 escarole hearts

1 large garlic clove, minced

1/2 inch fresh ginger, minced

2 tbsp soy sauce

1 heaping tbsp honey

Juice 1/2 lime

Line two salad plates with the escarole hearts.  Toss the onions, tomatoes, coriander and roquette together in a bowl, then mound on top of the escarole.  Place duck slices on top.

Mix together the garlic, ginger, soy sauce, honey, lime juice and pour over salad.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes, Salad and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Mesquite and Tea Smoked Duck Salad

  1. alex says:

    wow, what a lovely idea. I love the photo of the end product with that beautiful colourful cloth underneath. I have never had tea smoked duck but it sounds delicious.

  2. Wow I want one of those too!
    And I want duck again jumm

  3. Karista says:

    This is beautiful and looks so delicious! I agree with Alex… what a lovely idea. Happy Cooking!

  4. What a cool little smoker – I like that! Nice looking pics too.

  5. The tiles in your kitchen are so cute! I love the recipe, but the background caught my eye as super neat. I always wonder what everyone else’s house looks like lol

  6. Well you know I love this one! Glad you dug up the smoker.

  7. This dish looks amazing! I have to find one of those indoor smoke boxes…fabulous!

  8. beti says:

    I really love the smell of mesuite but paired with tea sounds way better, I love the combination it must taste delicious

  9. I’ve always wanted to try using a stove-top smoker! Is it not smoky at all? Can you just smell the smoke, but it all gets contained in the smoking box?

    Also, did you smuggle mesquite to France? 😉

  10. Tessa says:

    I’ve never used a stove top smoker before. It sounds like it would be perfect to use during the cold winter months. Your duck looks gorgeous!

  11. cjdelgrosso says:

    You continue to cook my favorites! Duck is another of my favorites! You are a cook with a connection to my food soul!

  12. Gary says:

    How long did you cook the duck legs in the smoker?

Leave a Reply

