Jamie’s Cullen Skink with Mussels

 

The new Jamie magazine is billed as the “budget issue”(February 12, Issue 26).  Frugal, go out and buy this, it can’t be that expensive and you are going to love it!  The front cover says, “Packed with brilliant and thrifty ideas for eating well”.  I like the eating well part.  “Give up nothing!  Seafood! Meat! Booze!  Cut costs, not flavour”.  I like the give up nothing part.  Anyway, penny pinching aside, this is a great issue with wonderful and delicious meals.  I will be making several.

We begin with the Cullen Skink which I had never heard of, but did immediately like the name.  The fishmonger had beautiful fillets of smoked haddock and plenty of fresh mussels.  I also purchased some nice dos cabillaud fillets for future consideration.

I wouldn’t change a thing about this soup, so that’s why I made a parsley and garlic vinaigrette to drizzle on top 🙂  True Scots will skip the vinaigrette.  Just 1 pound 35 per serving!  This was so good!

Cullen Skink with Mussels

3 garlic cloves

Leaves from 6 parsley branches

Juice from 1/2 lemon

1/2 tsp Dijon mustard

1/2 tsp red wine vinegar

3 tbsp olive oil

2 tbsp water

Pepper

2 tbsp butter

1 onion, finely chopped

1 leek, finely sliced

1 lb potatoes, chopped

2 bay leaves

1 lb smoked haddock fillets

3 cups milk

Water

1 lb fresh mussels

In a food processor or blender, puree the garlic and parsley.  Add the lemon juice, mustard, vinegar, olive oil, water, pepper and blend until smooth.  Refrigerate.

Cook the onion, leek, potatoes and bay leaves in the butter for 5 minutes, until the leek is softened.  Add the haddock to the pan, about half the milk and water to cover.  Bring to a boil and simmer for 5-10 minutes or until the fish flakes.   Remove the fish from the pan, discard skin and flake into chunks.  Set aside.

Add the remaining milk to the pan with black pepper and continue to simmer for 15 minutes or until the vegetables are soft.  Add the haddock and mussels, then cover and and cook for 3-5 minutes until mussels have opened.

Ladle the soup into bowls, drizzle with the vinaigrette and serve with fresh country bread.

Wine suggestion:  Muscadet

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes, Soup and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Jamie’s Cullen Skink with Mussels

  1. You beat me to it, Rosemary. I love smoked haddock and you’ve made the dish look delicious.

  2. I’ve never heard of cullen skink.. and have never made anything with smoked haddock (very scary sounding food for me) It’s high time I tried it.. the combination with mussels sounds heavenly!!

  3. What a name for such a lovely sounding recipe! I wonder what’s the history behind the name?

  4. I’m not poor :D. I just like to eat cheaply :P. This sounds really delicious, though I don’t agree with the added mussels – cullen skink is a traditional Scottish chowder, intended to be simple, yet delicious, as most traditional British recipes are :D. Well, of course they must be a nice addition, happily eaten if given to me 😀

  5. This looks delightful. I’m not an expert on cullen skink, but I love mussels so I’m in.

  6. Michelle says:

    I don’t care if it’s authentic or not, but what do I know? I’m American (and I guess I need to learn how to do that smiley face thing). The photos are beautiful—good lord, I think you must have the best light in all of France! And I’ve always loved the name of that dish.

  7. What could I substitute for the haddock? A white fish?

  8. Love Cullen Skink and it brings back happy memories of time in Scotland! Can´t get smoked haddock here though 😦

  9. This recipe is lovely! I can barely look at your blog without drooling. So many great date night recipes!

  10. Pingback: Jamie’s Cullen Skink with Mussels | wineandwilddogs

  11. Pingback: Cullen Skink Chez Moi | Cooking in Sens

Leave a Reply

