A Little Breakfast: Quail Eggs on Toast

Not very hungry this morning but feeling playful, I thought I would have a little breakfast.  I had some quail eggs and a little pork roast that I got from the traiteur, about the size of a ham hock.

The hardest part about this breakfast is cracking the quail eggs into the pan.  The shells are turtle egg tough.

Quail Eggs on Toast

2 quail eggs

Butter

Grated cheese

Chives

1 small piece of ham

2 small pieces of toast

Cherry tomatoes, sliced

Crack the eggs into a pan with the butter, sprinkle with the cheese and chives.  Add the ham slice to the pan to warm.  After about 1 minute, remove the eggs and place on the toast.  Put the ham slice along side and top with cherry tomato slices.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to A Little Breakfast: Quail Eggs on Toast

  1. Tessa says:

    What a tasty little breakfast! I love quail eggs but unfortunately I have not been able to find a local source. You would think that quail eggs would be easy to find for it is not uncommon to see quail along our roads and in our backyard bird feeders.

    • Hi Tessa. I think in the States, you have to live in or near a place that has a demand for quail eggs, like cities with gourmet restaurants and a clientele with Michelin star tastes 🙂

      There is a high demand for quail eggs in all of France, country and city, so there are lots of them in the supermarket and open market at a very reasonable price.

    • Sophia says:

      It looks awesome, doesn’t it? 🙂

      Anyway, I was able to find quail eggs at an Asian market pretty close to where I live. Hope this helps!!

  2. If I ever get to eat breakfast, that could be the one for me. Excellent.

  3. What a delightful little weekend brunch dish this would make. I must see if I can find some quail eggs!

  4. I haven’t cooked with quail eggs so that’s interesting to me. I love your breakfasts.

  5. Norma Chang says:

    Very cute and tasty breakfast. Must keep an eye out for quail eggs.

  6. Quail eggs are so cute. I love that you use them so much, Rosemary. I see you as my un-frugal counterpart. You cook the sort of food I would if I wasn’t a stingy little git.

  7. Raymund says:

    This is the type of breakfast I wanna wake up to

  8. Chilli Ninja says:

    Amazingly tasty looking. Never had quail eggs and that’s really interesting that they are rock hard. Thanks for the great breakkie Idea.

  9. What a perfectly beautiful and beautifully perfect breakfast! We can get quails eggs here, but I agree with what you say about cracking the shells – I usually do it with a small serrated knife.

  10. katyarich says:

    yummy…..and fantastic…!!!!

  11. Kathy says:

    Wonderful idea with the quail eggs… perfect size for a bit of toast!

  12. Oh, quail eggs! It’s true: they are a bit hard to crack. I always had them at parties, hard boiled. Like mini-egg poppers!

    But it seems like such a great thing to put on toast. And that is a very pretty ham!

  13. Pingback: Cooking Quail Eggs - Ternak Puyuh

Leave a Reply

