Oven Barbecued Chicken with Tagliatelle Carbonara

This started out with me wanting to make some American barbecue sauce for Jacques and turned into lunch with a Jamie-like carbonara.  What are you going to do?  Last week, I saw a recipe on a French site that was inspired by a Jamie Oliver tagliatelle carbonara and that’s what inspired mine.  Notice my new plate and bowl, 3 euros :)

Who knows what the original recipe was like because I certainly didn’t follow William Walter’s recipe http://www.williamjwalter.com/wjw_recette_TAGLIATELLE.pdf exactly.

Remember it was Jacques who procured the American cut ribs.  When I gave him a sample of the cooked ribs he complained that the meat was not salty enough but praised the qualities of the sauce.  I decided to overlook the complaint and make some sauce for him.

For the chicken:  Season with salt and pepper, marinate in the barbecue sauce for about 30 minutes.  Cook in a 400 degree Fahrenheit oven, skin side down for 25 minutes, turn and brush with more sauce and continue to cook for 20 minutes.

American Barbecue Sauce

2 cups water

3/4 cup light Karo corn syrup

1/2 cup tomato paste

1/2 cup white vinegar

3 tbsp molasses

3 tbsp brown sugar

1 tsp liquid smoke

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp onion powder

1/4 tsp black pepper

1/2 tsp paprika

1/2 tsp garlic powder

Bring all ingredients to a boil, then simmer for 1 hour, stirring occasionally.

Wine suggestion:  I had Chablis

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Oven Barbecued Chicken with Tagliatelle Carbonara

  1. We might make BBQ tomorrow, so excited. (We might get ducks from a hunter friend though, and that’s exciting too.) Looks great.

  2. Tessa says:

    Okay, that does it. Your BBQ chicken looks amazingly mouth watering! I am now determined to go out, fire up my BBQ for the first time this year and grill up some chicken. I don’t care if the temperature is in the low thirties or if it rains. Thanks for the inspiration!

  3. I do like the plate and bowl. When I get back from my holiday, on which I leave on monday, I shall get back down to my favourite second hand crockery shop and see what I can dig up. This meal looks wonderful. I’m a sucker for simple pasta dishes.

  4. Lovely meal and lovely crockery – food and wine eaten and drunk out of pretty plates and glasses always tastes a little more special! (Especially chablis!).

  5. Where do you get Karo syrup?

    • If you live next to an Intermarche, you might be lucky to find it there in the foreign food section. My husband brought several bottles from the States in his suitcase.

      If you can’t find it, try substituing the British “Golden Syrup”. That could work, I think.

  6. I thought about the Golden Syrup. That would surely work. Thanks.

  7. katyarich says:

    I love your blog, its so delicious……

  8. Meenakshi says:

    I love mixing up tagliatelle with other flavours and sauces…that barbecue chicken looks so succulent and inviting! And I love the blue crockery. Need to invest in some myself.

  9. Pingback: Look Ma, I’m Rachael Ray! OR Creamy Tagliatelle With Mushrooms & Sausage « Masala Art

  10. Pingback: Roasted Pork Belly | Cooking in Sens

Leave a Reply

