Poached Egg on Brioche

I’m not really a daily breakfast eater, more of a sometime breakfast eater and only when I wake up with an idea that, to me, sounds irresistible.  This morning, it was poached egg on a slice of brioche with Epoisse cheese and chives.  I did consider gilding the lily with smoked salmon but wisely decided to save that for another day.

Poached Egg on Brioche

1 egg

1 slice of brioche, toasted

2 sliced rectangles of epoisse cheese

Chives, snipped

Poach the egg in a little vinegar water until cooked to taste.  Place the cheese on top of the toast, then the egg and sprinkle with chives.  Savor every bite.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Poached Egg on Brioche

  1. Melissa says:

    My poached eggs are never that beautiful.

    • Get up at 6:30 and walk the dog, feed her and the cats, wash your hands and then, still in a daze, poach your egg in simmering water with a teaspoon of vinegar. Works for me 🙂

  2. That is good food photography – looks fabulous

  3. Me neither, Sens. I do love a good poached egg though. I generally have it in an English muffin. This is a kind of Frencher (I realise that isn’t a term :D), more fatty version. I likes it 😀

  4. A perfectly poached egg (don´t know how you could bear to break off to take those fabulous photos!). It doesn´t get much better than that does it?!

  5. Beautiful and simple. Sounds delicious.

  6. ceciliag says:

    Now i am going to have a poached egg tomorrow morning,with a few drops of my new vinegar, I d not have any of your other gorgeous ingredients so i may have to substitute. i have to say that breakfast is one of my favourite meals, i seldom do lunch. But there is something really luxurious about making yourself a perfect breakfast and then eating it alone looking out the window and thinking! c

  7. betty says:

    so delicious and perfect for breakfast, your pictures are lovely

  8. tokyohamster says:

    You make it sound so easy! Haha I’m always looking for new breakfast ideas. Thank you!

  9. I love anything with poached eggs. Brioche just makes it that much better!

  10. Pingback: Epoisse cheese | Kcloanstore

Leave a Reply

