The Meatloaf Argument

Back in the day, when we were first married, I made meatloaf.

Him:   Oh boy, I love meatloaf!

Me:   Good.  Where are you going?

Him:  To get the catsup

Me:  You don’t need catsup.

Him:  We always put catsup on my mother’s meatloaf

Me:  Maybe because your mother’s meatloaf was dry!  Taste it.

Him:  Whoa!  This is really good.  So moist.

Me:   Voila!  (Or whatever I said before I learned to speak French).

My husband’s mother, a registered nurse in white shoes, not very tall, first generation Irish, fiercely protective of her family, whether by blood or marriage, who taught me how to cook vegetables the way I wanted to eat them and gave me her ancient but pristine Farberware which I still use today and who I loved as much as she loved me,  could not make meatloaf.   What can I say?   It was dry.

The secret to good meatloaf is liquid.  No matter how you’re going to flavor it, tomato , mushroom or onion, put a decent amount of liquid in the meat mixture along with the eggs.  Also, don’t over breadcrumb it; you want to taste the meat.

35 years later……

Me:   What are you doing with that salt?

Him:  I’m putting it on the meatloaf.

Me:  Did you taste it?

I made a huge meatloaf today because I had serious eating guests for lunch.  You can cut this recipe down to 1 lb of meat or 2 lbs of meat.  I used lamb because I had lamb.  You can use ground pork and/or ground veal.

They had some lovely prepared escargot in the Christmas market this weekend.  I bought 48 to eat immediately and 48 to freeze until my men arrive for Christmas.  A little expensive but I have to say that these are among the best I’ve ever tasted!

Meatloaf with Tomato Sauce

1 onion, chopped

3-4 cloves garlic, chopped

1 green bell pepper, chopped

2 tbsp olive oil

1 big can diced tomatoes

2 tbsp tomato paste

1 cup water

1 lb ground lamb

2 lb ground steak

3 eggs

1 cup dry bread crumbs

Cook the onion, garlic, and pepper in the olive oil until just done.  Add the tomatoes, tomato paste and water.  Simmer for 30 minutes and allow to cool.

In a large bowl, mix the eggs, meats, bread crumbs and 1 1/2 cup of the cooled sauce.  Form into a loaf, place in a baking pan and bake at 350 Fahrenheit for 1 hour.  Remove from oven, pour over 1 cup of tomato sauce and continue to bake for an additional 30 minutes.  Slice and serve with the rest of the tomato sauce, heated.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Meatloaf Argument

  1. Isn’t that funny – meatloaf was the one thing my mother DID do well…until she decided to make Weight Watcher’s recipes.
    Yours looks particularly toothsome!

  2. I love the idea of meatloaf – why don’t I make it?

  3. Katherine hates my meatloaf. I may need to try your recipe. We were watching Lidia Bastianich make hers and stuff it with about five types of cheese, and that appealed to her. I love meatloaf and this recipe.

  4. Mary Jo says:

    This looks wonderful. I’m on my second edit of my last final of the semester–just thisclose to finishing–but I can’t help it, my finger keeps clicking through the gorgeous photos and the delicious recipes…far more rewarding to read than news about China’s investments.

    Thank you for sharing.

  5. Anna says:

    I hope I can one day make meatloaf as easy as you do yours. It is a skill and talent put together. I am bookmarking this page. Love the pictures too! Thanks for posting such a hearty recipe!

Leave a Reply

