Chorizo, Shrimp and Linguini

Growing up in California, we loved Mexican chorizo for breakfast with scrambled eggs.  Mexican chorizo is a raw sausage in pork casing that can be cooked whole or, casing removed, fried up with eggs and scallions.  Imagine my disappointment when I discovered that the chorizo available in African and European supermarkets was a salami type affair.

Still, Spanish or Portuguese chorizo is good, especially with pasta.  Live and learn.

Speaking of learning, I have completed my “Vide Congelateur” project and can get back to my normal way of planning meals.   I have to say, I’ve learned my lesson.  How could I be so stupid?!   It’s obvious that I need a dedicated, stand alone freezer in the garage in order to have any kind of meaningful life in France.  Duh.  🙂

Chorizo, Shrimp and Linguini

1/2 lb chorizo, coarsely chopped

3 tbsp olive oil

3 large cloves garlic, chopped

3 large tomatoes, seeded and coarsely chopped

Salt and pepper

Crushed red pepper

1 lb shrimp

1/2 lb fresh linguini, cooked and drained

2 tbsp chopped parsley

2 tbsp chopped chives

Saute the chorizo in the oil for 3 minutes, add the garlic and saute for a further minute or two.  Add the tomatoes, salt, pepper and crushed red, bring to a boil, then simmer for 8 minutes.  Add the shrimp and cook for 3 minutes.   Add the linguini and toss to coat with the sauce.  Add the parsley and chives, then serve immediately.

Wine suggestion:  Brouilly Beaujolais

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Chorizo, Shrimp and Linguini

  1. This looks delicious! And beautifully plated! Looking forward to giving it a try this weekend.

  2. IamSimplyTia says:

    Can I use Mexican chorizo with this dish or does it have to be Spanish (Spain) chorizo? I bought some Mexican chorizo for the first time ever last month and it’s been sitting in the freezer since. If I can successfully use it with this recipe then I’m definitely gonna bookmark this and try it over the weekend.

    Your dish looks amazing btw!

  3. It would be excellent, once the casing is removed, in tacos, burritos or chili. Very good taste!

  4. Spanish chorizo is absolutely amazing. It’s one of the reasons I get so excited about going out there every year. This dish as a whole looks great too! I think the combination of prawns and chorizo would be in my top five. That’s a quite a thick linguine too, not that that’s a problem 😀

  5. I’m from Spain, and the pasta with chorizo is a classic, I think almost all grandmothers have their own recipe with this dish.
    My favourite is the chorizo mixed with bechamel, and hard egg. Bechamel picks the flavour and colour of chorizo, and it’s so addictive!!
    I’ve never tried with the shrimp, but it sounds really well.

  6. I feel your pain. Good chorizo is hard to find here too. This looks fantastic.

  7. It looks delicious and I like the table cloth and napkins too with their red suggestion of paprika in the chorizo. I suppose we’re lucky here being so near Spain, the dried chorizo sausages are widely available and sometimes the uncooked ones too. So they must make uncooked ones somewhere in Spain as well as Mexico!

  8. You had me at chorizo!

  9. sweet road says:

    I recently made a dish very similar to this… the only difference was that it didn’t have chorizo and I added a little Vermouth to the sauce while it was cooking. Delicious! I can’t wait to try it again!

  10. Dimples says:

    I did not realize there was a difference between Spanish and Mexican Chorizo until I after I tried your recipe!! I had made it with the Mexican Chorizo and it still came out super delicious!! Next time i will have to try your recipe with the Spanish Chorizo like you intended it.

  11. Those photos are very good. I’m impressed. And it sounds delicious.

  12. Candida says:

    I’ve had this recipe saved since you posted it, and I’ve finally tried it. It’s AMAZING! I’m so glad I made extra.

    Would you mind if I blogged about it, and mentioned you as my source of inspiration?

  13. Pingback: Shrimp and Sausage Linguine – The Flavor Marriage « My Kitchen Counter

  14. Pingback: Chorizo, Shrimp and Linguini | MBSIB: The Man ...

Leave a Reply

