Marcus Bawdon Does Chili

Excited and sleepless in the wee hours of the morning because our son is going to make it to France for Christmas, I was lying in the bed, cruising the internet on my Ipad 2.

Country Wood Smoke, a blog I subscribe to, had a scrumptious recipe for cider dressed pulled pork bap that I thought sounded good     http://countrywoodsmoke.wordpress.com/2011/11/19/cider-dressed-pulled-pork-bap/.  As an aside, he mentioned a three bean chili.  My interest was piqued and I asked him about it.  Naturally, as kind as those good ole boys from the U.K. are, he gave me the recipe:

Marcus Bawdon’s Vegetarian Three Bean Chili

2 onions diced, 2 carrots diced, 2 sticks celery diced, a diced red pepper and a couple of cloves of finely chopped garlic.

Sweat these off in a casserole dish with a pinch of salt. Add a chopped dried ancho poblano chilli, a chipotle chilli, a couple of teaspoons cumin, a good tbsp of smoked paprika and fry off for a few minutes.

Add a tin of any 3 beans, I use chick peas, black beans and kidney beans, but you can use what you can get. Add a couple of tins of plum tomatoes a shot of espresso or a small strong coffee and a few squares of grated dark chocolate. Leave to simmer for a few hours with the lid on, topping up with water if it gets too dry.

A momentary stutter as I remembered, in keeping with my vide congelateur vow https://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2011/11/14/le-sanglier-part-i/, that I had defrosted some duck fillets (aiguillettes), in order to make sesame duck with zucchini ribbons.  That went by the boards!  Marcus turned my head.   Duck chili!   Sounded good to me!   Sorry Marcus.

It’s Sunday, the Carrefour City ( think 7-11) opened up at 8:30 a.m. and I was there!  Unfortunately, they didn’t have black beans, so I substituted with white.  For the dried ancho chilli, I substituted dried bird’s tongues chillies (tongues of flame), added a little oregano and a bay leaf to make that duck feel at home.

I’m still going to make Marcus’ vegetarian version, it’s good enough to stand on it’s own without the duck.   Thank you Marcus for this wonderful Sunday, day long lunch!

Duck Chili

1 lb duck fillets, cut into bite sized pieces

2 onions, chopped

2 carrots, chopped

2 celery branches, chopped

1 red bell pepper, chopped

1 long green chili, chopped

4 large garlic cloves, chopped

2 tbsp olive oil

1 tbsp crushed bird’s tongues chillies or crushed red pepper

2 tsp cumin

1 tbsp paprika

1 tbsp oregano

1 bay leaf

1 can each, kidney beans, chick peas, white beans

1 cup espresso

4 small squares dark chocolate, grated

1 large can of whole tomatoes

Saute the vegetables and duck in the olive oil for 10-15 minutes.  Add the chillies, cumin, paprika, oregano and bay leaf and blend cooking for 3 minutes.  Add the beans, espresso, chocolate and tomatoes, bring to a boil and simmer for 1 1/2 hours.  Serve with warm flour tortillas.

Wine suggestion:  Beaujolais Village

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, English, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Marcus Bawdon Does Chili

  1. That does sound good, without the duck or even better with duck when it must be like a very spicy version of cassoulet!

  2. There is chocolate, good! I keep telling people to add chocolate to chili, it works SO well. Looks fantastic, Sens. also, I think you’re right; we are nice ol’ boys in the UK. by the way, I’m very, very jealous of your ipad 2 😀

  3. Conor Bofin says:

    Lovely post and lovely photography (a signature of yours). I am doing a fish pie this evening. I am hungry already and reading this post does nothing to make me feel like waiting the couple of hours til feeding time. I spend some time surfing using my iPad2 also. I find it does not display the reply section correctly (when one has to fill in one’s details) and when one clicks the new orange number on the top right, it just refreshes the page. No such issue with the Macbook Pro, thanks be to goodness. I am more than 25 years using Mac.
    Keep up the good work,
    Conor

  4. Thanks Conor. Yes, I have to reply on my desktop. But still, with the IPAD I can skype with the family. I love it!

  5. Wow, duck chili sounds wonderful. Looks wonderful too.

  6. Fay says:

    Wonder how duck chili would go down in Texas. Sounds good to me. The chocolate, coffee combination in a savory dish, especially in any kind of chili, shows some big imagination. But then Mexican mole has choc in it. Cannot remember about the coffee. – Fay

  7. Wow, I’m really chuffed 🙂 thank you Rosemary, now I am glad I didn’t get photos of the last time I cooked this, because yours are beautiful, love the addition of the duck, and you are spot on with the oregano and bay, as I’d forgotten to put them down in my recipe, they just add that extra level of taste.
    Cheers
    Marcus

  8. Chilli Ninja says:

    Looks lovely! Your photos are fantastic and it looks like great meat.

  9. Pingback: Balsamic Glazed Duck Fillets | Cooking in Sens

Leave a Reply

