Le Sanglier Part I

I have two refrigerators one, supposedly, “American refrigerator” with freezer to the side in the kitchen and one, for sure, French refrigerator with 3 tiny freezer drawers on the bottom in the garage.  Both freezer sections are so full that I’m starting to feel ridiculous!  Why, I ask myself, do I need all of this food?   There’s only two of us humans, the two cats and the dog; the animals’ food is stored in the pantry, not in the freezer.   The open market, the fishmonger and a convenience store are a 3 minute walk away and the weather is cold but the sky is clear, so it’s not for fear of a blizzard or being snowed in, unable to satisfy a craving for a tartine of boudin noir with reblochon cheese and apples  https://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2011/09/06/tartine-boudin-noir-apples-and-reblochon-cheese/

No, I’m convinced that rather than suffering from early senility, I am continuing my lifetime, bad habit of impatience.  I can’t wait.  I can’t wait and it’s affecting my freezers. I’ll have plenty of food in the house but I’ll go out and buy more because I saw, for instance, a glorious lamb paillard http://myhomecookedmeals.blogspot.com/2011/10/lamb-paillard-wkasha-arugula-tomatoes.html on My Home Cooked Meals, I’m out of lamb chops and I can’t wait to make the paillard.  So off I go to the market/supermarket, get the lamb chops and while I’m there, I see some great looking or irresistibly priced meat/fish/chicken and before I know it, I’m trying to jam even more things into the freezer.   Finished!   It’s time to “vide congelateur” https://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2011/08/14/vide-congelateur/.   We’ll begin with the sanglier.

Picture from http://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fichier:WildZwijn_cropped.jpg

About six months ago, for some reason past understanding, M. Parret gave me a large, raw leg of sanglier (wild boar), done to death by a hunter friend, which I immediately put in the freezer.  Occasionally, I would see it in the outdoor freezer drawer, taking up more space than it deserved.  Today I have removed it to thaw before submerging it in a spiced brine.   Stay tuned.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Le Sanglier Part I

  1. Katherine and I were just talking yesterday about the small fridge we had in San Diego. The freezer inside was always getting stuck. It was about three-quarters the size of a normal fridge. I had to keep fixing the door with super glue. I love big American refrigerators.

  2. My husband and I live in Provence half of the year and in Los Angeles the other half. We are both visual artists. I have been making as series of handmade little books of art and recipes based on our life in France and have started teaching cooking classes called The Art of the Tart in both France and in LA. I wanted to tell you how very much I enjoy your blog and can totally identify with you, especially the importing the brooms and mops from the US to France! I would love to speak with you directly. My website is http://www.sharonlearromero.net and my e-mail is sromero23@gmail.com

    all the best
    sharon romero

  3. Oh, I’m looking forward to this! I’ve occasionally been given a piece like this by a local hunter…but not often enough!

  4. Pingback: Marcus Bawdon Does Chili | Cooking in Sens

  5. Pingback: Le Sanglier Part III | Cooking in Sens

Leave a Reply

