Goose Foie Gras Salad

Someone asked me the other day about the “climate” in France concerning the force feeding of ducks and geese to obtain foie gras.  Correct me if I’m wrong but I believe that the French are mainly concerned with their own “force feeding”.   That is, they demand that their products are clearly marked for origin, additives and as to whether they have been genetically modified.   They would not put up with the bizarre sugar compounds that have been added to our foods in America without our knowledge or consent.  (I’m almost finished)  That’s why you have informed and concerned individuals in the U.S. http://thekitchensgarden.wordpress.com/ who choose to grow their own products rather than take their chances with questionable produce and meats that have been modified, injected and fed in a way to increase profits, regardless of possible health issues for the consumer.

As far as ducks and geese are concerned, the French are perfectly aware of how the foie gras is obtained and either choose not to eat it or enjoy it with relish.  Wikipedia states that they consumed 19,000 tons in 2005.  Anyway.

I found some nice slices of goose foie gras in the refrigerated section of the supermarket. It seems they are already stocking for the holidays.  To make my salad, I tossed mache with vinaigrette, added some asparagus tips, quail eggs, tomatoes, toast points, topped the foie gras with a little fig jam, poured a glass of champagne, tuned the internet to Country Gold and enjoyed.

Wine suggestion:   Veuve Clicquot

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Recipes, Salad and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Goose Foie Gras Salad

  1. Love the last shot – and the addition of quail’s eggs to your little feast is a nice touch.

  2. Is there anything that doesn’t go with Clicquot? 😉
    Beautiful feast – both for the eye and the palate…

  3. It has been entirely too long since I’ve had foie gras. The first time I tasted it changed my life. I like to consider it the moment I realized food could be so exciting that it was worth a career change. Your recipe is making me want more ASAP.

  4. I would enjoy this with relish and a good wine.

  5. I don’t have too much of a moral problem with foie gras. I’d be more concerned with what other people thought. There is a rather nice restaurant not too far away from where I lived last year that had a couple of lovely foie gras dishes on the menu, but they got removed due to customer complaints. I never knew about all the dodgy foods etc… in America. It’s rather different in Britain too – we know everything that goes into our food. It’s a real shame I don’t really like champagne 😀

  6. Katsacook says:

    So easy to say as we are not the goose…seems a rather cavalier view toward any living thing that suffered to give you joy. Just thank it and then enjoy, seems a bit kinder is all. We are after all what we eat…and btw it looks divine indeed.

  7. The salad looks wonderful. Like most people in France, I’m quite aware of how foie gras is produced, I love eating it and I think that its production is not anything like as cruel as the production of battery eggs and factory farmed chicken – and you don’t hear many complaints about those!

Leave a Reply

