Salmon Fillet and Cabbage with Bacon

For some reason, we haven’t had cabbage in a long time.  Why?   Cabbage is a wonderful vegetable!   I remedied that today when I made our usual salmon fix.

Because my mother abused me as a child with her overcooked vegetables, I guess I am fanatically concerned about cooking all the color and goodness out, especially green vegetables.  I like crisp-tender.

I had a nice big, thick salmon fillet but you can just use 4 individual fillets for this recipe if you like.  I recommend the Wagamama method of 2 minutes one side, turn, 2 minutes, turn, 2 minutes.

Sauce for the salmon was not really necessary but I splashed on a bit of tamari soy sauce and it was perfect!

Salmon Fillet with Cabbage and Bacon

6 pieces of bacon, sliced into batons

1/2 red onion, thinly sliced

1/4 head of cabbage, shredded

1 tbsp water

4 salmon fillets

1 tsp olive oil

1 tsp butter

Cook the bacon in a wok for about 3 minutes, add the onion and cook until soft.  Add the cabbage, stir frying for about 3 minutes.  Add the water, cover and steam until crisp tender.  Set aside and keep warm.

Season the fillets with salt and pepper, then saute in the butter and oil  until just done and firm.  Splash with tamari soy sauce, if desired, and serve with the cabbage.

Wine suggestion:   Chablis premiere cru

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, fish, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Salmon Fillet and Cabbage with Bacon

  1. Wow, beautifully simple recipe. I’m with you on the crisp veg!

  2. You make cabbage look gourmet. It’s one of my favorites too.

  3. That salmon looks perfect!

  4. Christin says:

    Such an easy, simple meal. I love salmon paired with cabbage and I agree the cabbage needs a little crunch.

  5. Carrie says:

    Looks like such a simple and lovely meal. I love cabbage, too – my favorite way is just shredded and sauteed with some butter and salt. But the bacon and onion variation sounds great, too. And that is some beautiful salmon!

  6. That salmon fillet looks perfect… too perfect. It must have been trimmed 😛 Either that or I’ve just fallen in love with a fish…

  7. Madonna says:

    I think your salmon upstaged the cabbage. How beautiful. Did you buy it like that or did you trim it to look this way?

Leave a Reply

