Texas Smothered Pork Steaks

Learning to make gravy was one of the very first things I learned to do in the kitchen.   I guess most of you would call it a quick roux.   First you fry your meat in oil, remove from the pan, add flour and then liquid.  It’s like making a sauce bechamel, only you brown the flour.

I guess this dish is called “smothered” because the meat is simmered in gravy after frying. My mother would do the same with chicken.  Do not overcook the pork.  If you are worried about a little pink, that will be gone after you cook it in the gravy.

Texas Smothered Pork Steaks

4-6 pork steaks

Salt and pepper

Garlic powder

2 tbsp sunflower oil

2 tbsp flour

2 cups of chicken broth or water

1 onion, thinly sliced

Season the steaks with salt, pepper and garlic powder, then fry in the oil until just cooked.  Set aside.   Add the flour to the pan, stirring to brown.   Add one cup of the broth to the pan and stir until smooth.  Add the other cup, blending well.   Add the onion, salt and pepper, bring to a boil then simmer for 15 minutes.

Add the pork to the pan, bring to a boil, cover and simmer for 20-30 minutes.

Wine suggestion:  Bourgogne Epineuil

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Texas Smothered Pork Steaks

  1. That looks like my kind of food – simple, tasty. Wonderful.

  2. Simply irresistible! Love the cute salt/ pepper shakers in the back too 🙂

  3. ceciliag says:

    Making the gravy is my job (when called for) anywhere we visit to eat, because I always make it like you do, the old fashioned way. Everyone loves it. This was one of the first things I remember my mother teaching me. That and cheese sauce. Both built around the roux. I can’t wait to have my own pigs so that we can have pork again. Have a great day Rosemary. c

  4. Cayla says:

    this meal looks so tasty! now i’m hungry 🙂

  5. I like when you go all down home on us! I love this and never think to make it at home. It’s something I’ll order at a good diner or home-style restaurant. Great recipe!

  6. Fantastic, Sens! I love it.

  7. Oh no, frugal, language problem! I think in your case it would be a type of scone but not your type. American southern style biscuits.

  8. Karen says:

    Having grown up in Texas, this was a dish that my mother made often.

  9. Katsacook says:

    From Texas as well I grew up on this too, though yours is a bit healthier using broth rather than milk for the gravy, Think I’ll make this myself this weekend.

  10. Rachel says:

    I’m making this right now and never thought about using broth thank you so much! Favorite meal just got beter.

Leave a Reply

