Can Anyone Tell Me How To Make This?

fish

The photo above is copy-pasted from Juliana Loh’s website  http://julianaloh.com/blog/ It is a spicy Sichuan crispy whole fried fish.   I had something like this in Bangladesh once, only with a sweet and sour sauce.  Juliana had this at Beijing restaurant.

I would like to know how to correctly score the fish and to fry it whole and crispy, then to plate it sitting on it’s stomach.   I think I can duplicate the sauces.  I’m thinking that Kay at My Home Cooked Meals http://myhomecookedmeals.blogspot.com/might know how to do this.   Anyone else?  Thanks.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Chinese, Cooking, fish, Food and Wine, Main dishes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Can Anyone Tell Me How To Make This?

  1. I had something like that in Goa, after which I was confined to my bed, but mostly the bathroom, for the rest of my holiday!

    • The important thing was that you tried it. In India and other underdeveloped countries, you take your chances and with luck, the chillies burn away anything that might be a little off, like fish that might not be as fresh as one would prefer.

  2. baobabs says:

    I think if you had it in Bangladesh it probably won’t be as spicy or with the tongue numbing spicy sichuan peppers. For all sweet and sour sauces, I use my mother’s tried and tested recipe. Ketchup as a base, some sugar, water and abit of oil. throw in some diced pineapples, peppers and onions to the mix. The Hainanese chicken chops my mother makes uses the same gravy recipe but with frozen peas thrown in.

    As for the fish, don’t know how to plate it sitting on its stomach, but my mother would slice each side of the fish to deep fry it, she also rubs the body of the fish with salt before dumping the fish into the wok. And oh, also to always bear in mind to take the fish out at least 5 mins before as the hot oil continues to cook the meat when it’s fished out and sitting on a kitchen towel. Same rule for tempura prawns etc

    • Thank you Juliana. I had it at Sichuan restaurant in Bangladesh but the restaurant was Chinese owned and run. It was fabulous!

      I’m going to try to make this on the weekend. Good tips about the salt and taking the fish out 5 minutes ahead. I’m going to try to plate it on it’s stomach, even if I have to prop it up and take the picture from the unpropped side 🙂 Thank you.

  3. Kay says:

    Rosemary, I don’t know how, but let me ask around 🙂

  4. Kay says:

    That looks like it’s been scored down to the bone in 3 sections, dipped in flour or starch, and deep fried.

    And you don’t have to do the total deep frying thing with complete submersion in oil. YOu can fill your pan with just enough oil to fry on side, then flip and fry on the other.

    To flip, and to lay it on the side like that, I use a pair of tongs and the widest spatula I’ve got.

    Hope that’s helpful. 🙂
    …………..
    Here is one answer I got from my blogger friend Shinae. She does a ton of Asian dishes. I think you’d like her site:-). Good luck with the fish!

    http://www.ridiculoushungry.blogspot.com

  5. Kay says:

    Your welcome :-). Rosemary, if you “friend” both me and Shinae Nae, we have some interesting food conversations on Facebook. Shinae has some photos of the fish she fried.

  6. Kay says:

    Oops, my account is Kay Yamazaki Ecker 🙂

  7. jon says:

    Agree that the salt rub is a good idea. If you use a wok, you can probably get away with less oil, although it takes some maneuvering to get the tail and head cooked if you have a smallish wok. For a sweet and sour sauce I would go with equal parts sugar and black vinegar (say half a cup each), with a cup of water, soy sauce and oil. heat it up, add some corn starch/water to thicken and finish with chopped ginger and freshly ground pepper.

  8. Oh what Kay said! I’m off to friend her.

Leave a Reply

