Chiquetaille Breakfast

I saw Julie Julia for the first time last night.  Interesting.   I can’t say that I liked the story line or plot but I liked Meryl Streep’s portrayal of Julia Child.   I like Meryl Streep in everything she’s done, except for that singing movie that I think won awards but I can’t remember the name because I refused to finish looking at it.

I didn’t realize that Julie Julia was about a blogger and her obsession with Julia Child and her cooking blog.   This fairly light weight movie, surprisingly, caused me to examine and question my own blogging activities!  Am I attaching too much importance to the blog?  Is there something else I should be doing?  Could this be an unnatural obsession? Maybe not about the cooking; I have always been a comfortable, adventurous cook and can bone a duck, turkey, quail, whatever.   But maybe I’m obsessing about the photos, Roger.

I noticed when I was in Vendee, Roger would always look at things, doors, houses, trees, fields for its photographic appeal.   That’s fairly normal for a professional photographer.

But I’m starting to look at every food item as a potential blog feature.   Take for instance this morning’s breakfast.  My stove care giver, B, loves the Haitian chiquetaille that I make https://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2011/03/18/haitian-chiquetaille-cod-fish-salad/  and was determined to make her own, which she did with some wonderful salted cod from Portugal.  She gave me a small jar to sample and this morning, because I really don’t have dedicated breakfast foods, I decided to eat some chiquetaille with baguette (Yes, I know Cecilia, chiquetaille is fish but so are kippers).

I spooned some chiquetaille into a small ramekin and tore off a piece of baguette, but instead of reaching for a fork, I reached for my camera, mesmerized by the bright, fresh colors of the chiquetaille.  I took a couple of shots, working with my f-stops and focus.   Hunger forgotten, I put 2 eggs on to boil, sprinkled on some chopped parsley, moved in closer and changed my ISO to 200, cackling over my final understanding of the terms underexposure and overexposure.

Eggs boiled, I cut them in half and arranged them over the chiquetaille, napping the eggs with a little piperade sauce https://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2011/09/26/chicken-with-sauce-piperade/ and took several close-ups.   Not satisfied, I added a checked napkin and the chiquetaille jar to the scene, propped the fork on a piece of baguette and proceeded to take a ridiculous number of photos.

Hunger satisfied, I covered the ramekin in plastic wrap and placed it in the refrigerator. What?   I could stand to lose a few pounds.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Haitian, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Chiquetaille Breakfast

  1. I’m liking where your mind is heading. I too thought Julie Julia was amongst the most boring films I have ever seen, and if Meryl Streep’s portrayal of Julia Child is remotely accurate, the woman was an out and out lush, which accounts for the unbelievable dullness of her book/books. Julie must have had so little in her life to be driven to cooking every pretentious dish in such an ennervating book. All blog and too much pay made Julie a dull girl.

  2. You know, I can now guess which blog is yours just by the photos – they are very unique (in a good way). I think I might be taking blogging a little too seriously, it’s turned into a bit of a full time job :P. You know what I’m going to say now; this food looks soooo delicious, and it does. However, for me the fork has stolen the show this time! It’s so cool.

    • Hi. I like the fork too. I’m still having fun but maybe I shouldn’t be so intense about the pictures. It’s just that I’m new to photography and I’m so pleased with my self 🙂 Thanks Roger.

  3. Laura says:

    I keep going back to the chiquetaille-with-avocado puree (low-spice guac) that La Voille used to serve on Sunday nights. It was beautiful. Try it sometimes … and agree that J&J was stupid.

  4. ceciliag says:

    Mamamia! i think.. AWFUL.. what a cast! .. Julie and Julia.. drab.. I could have just shaken that silly blogger girl with all her weeping! Meryl is usually so brilliant. Your food is such a joy and although beautifully photographed it is even more beautifully presented.. lovely.. c

  5. Tessa says:

    I really hope that you don’t re-examine your blogging activities. As a rookie food blogger, I learn something new from you every time I read and see your posts. And, if you are concerned about losing a few pounds, then look at it this way… Reaching for the camera instead of the fork is a good thing!

  6. I didn’t love that movie, but it was cool to see the food. Katherine also liked the cooking scenes in It’s Complicated. This looks like a great breakfast. I don’t think I could’ve put it back in the fridge.

    • My favorite food movie was Babette’s Feast. This was such a great movie that even my husband liked it. Now that would be a challenge! Cook all the dishes in Babette’s Feast.

  7. That’s so funny. I give my self the guilts these days, every time I cook something and DON’T photograph it. Now I’ve got guzzillions of photos waiting for me to have the time to write about them.
    BTW, my favourite food movie is Babette’s Feast, too. That, and Eat Drink Man Woman. Although there’s nowhere near enough food in that movie. But I’ll never forget the magic of its opening scenes, of that father cooking for his daughters…

    • I liked Eat Drink also but there’s another movie, Tampopo, about a fast food noodle restaurant that ignites a hard core noodle craving. Also, thanks for subscribing to my blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

