Chez Parret

For a member of the Parret family, I am republishing this post.  Thanks for visiting Ines and tell the Parrets that we miss them.

As Jade was off with her class today, Gilbert and Gilberte Parret invited me over for the afternoon.   I love eating there.

They have a cozy, outdoor, summer kitchen that looks out onto their front garden, complete with a back-in-the-day Lacanche stove like mine, only they had theirs first.

As always, this was a relaxed, leisurely meal with no time limit and lots of conversation.   We began with a wine aperitif of Bailly cremant and cute yellow tomatoes from the garden with salt, pepper, bread and butter.

I have to get a yellow tablecloth!

The entree was an interesting salad of hearts of palm, tuna filets, crab surimi, garden lettuce, tomatoes and parsley with a traditional vinaigrette.  M. Parret is an avid gardener and likes to showcase his harvest.   So fresh and so good!

With the entree, we had a light, dry, blended white wine from Alsace, Edelzwicker.  This was almost shocking because M. Parret generally only serves wines from Bourgogne.   He said that it was sometimes good to try another region’s wines and anyway, someone gave him the bottle.

Mme Parret, whose family is originally from Belgium, is a good traditional cook.  None of that Jamie Oliver rigmarole for her!   Mme Parret makes the best rillettes and fruit tartes I have ever tasted.  Concerned that, as Americans, we couldn’t possibly be eating properly, she has thoughtfully offered to teach me how to cook. So sweet!

For the “plat principal” Mme Parret prepared veal cutlets with an earthy, button mushroom sauce.   The veal, from the race Abondance, was born and raised at their chalet in the Savoie region of France.  The Abondance cow is also famous for it’s milk, used in making rich and creamy reblochon cheese.

M. Parret, as always, carefully prepared a platter for the cheese course.   He is truly a master and although retired, is still sought after for his advice and recommendations.The Parrets are always visibly disappointed that I haven’t seemed to learn a thing about cheeses since the last time we ate together.  In his prime, he tells me, he used to teach a cheese course for foreigners from around the world, including Americans.  “The Americans were the best students”, he enthuses.  Oh well, I guess I’ll just have to turn in my flag and slit my wrists!  I just can’t seem to remember anything about cheese unless it is called Cheddar, Monterey Jack, Swiss or Brie.  So with a heavy sigh, M. Parret prepares a selection of cheeses for my plate and tells me in which order I should eat them.  The Chaource and Roquefort were Mahvelous!

For dessert Mme Parret had prepared a simple dish of baked apples with raspberry jam and vanilla ice cream.  Just right!

2,019 visitors to my blog yesterday.   A new record!

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Cheese, Cooking, Dessert, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Salad and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Chez Parret

  1. That is how to eat in France. I truly believe that the food of France exists in the homes. Really excellent post – but I’m not sure that you need a yellow table cloth, as it’s a colour that rarely does anything to improve the look of food – it works rather like jaundice does on the skin!

  2. ....RaeDi says:

    I loved your post and your pictures, they say so much and the colors! What a treat the way you took us from beginning to end, my taste buds are watering! Tell your friends what a wonderful lunch you had and shared with us… I would love some of the cheese and of course what a way to start lunch with that colorful salad. the main dish and then that desert, apples, raspberry jam and vanilla ice cream over the top! That must be some garden! ….RaeDi

  3. ambrosiana says:

    Oh! What a beautiful meal you had at your friend’s house. Thanks for sharing the insights of a typical French family meal!! Stunning pictures..and WOW 2000 visits..that is impressive!!!

  4. And anyway someone gave him the bottle, I love it. I also want that cheese plate. What a great meal.

  5. The food looks phenomenal! Oh, how I wish I could have been there to share that delicious meal…even if it was just the cheese!

  6. joshuafagans says:

    Wow what a meal. Proud to say that this American just made rillettes de lapin though I wouldn’t mind some lessons…

  7. Rillettes de lapin! I hope you’re going to post!

  8. What lovely friends and what a wonderful meal. Oh….and that cheese!

  9. Ines says:

    I am family of M. and MMe Parret (I call her Marainne ;)) and I am so gratefull for this entry. Please never take it down! It’s beautiful!

  10. Gorgeous! Love the yellow tablecloth too!

  11. amazing. the food is a mirror into the soul. I truly believe this. such happy, content people produce great food.
    do you know? We’ll soon be in France (ma famille). Four days in Paris then onto Belgium and the Netherlands. Our last two days in a Chateau in the Loire. We will not be that far from Sens!
    I’m so excited! I feel like I am going to Disneyland!

  12. I can’t, for the life of me, understand why the French eat and love Surimi. The “dayglo” coloured artificial sticks of God knows what have no place on a table laden with so many delicious, honest food stuffs and fine wines. As you may have guessed, surimi are on my proscribed list:)

Leave a Reply

