Inarizushi with Tuna

I’ve probably said this before, but I started looking at blogs to get ideas for bento boxes. My favorite site was Cooking Cute but I don’t think she’s blogging anymore.  For a long time now,  my “go to” for bento ideas has been Just Bento or the sister site, Just Hungry.

Inarizushi are aburaage(fried tofu skins) stuffed with sushi rice and they are absolutely delicious.  The Japanese have such elegant ideas!  If you live near a good Japanese grocery store, you can buy these fresh.   Here is a video on how to prepare the aburaage with vegetables.   Watch the dog.

Since I’ve never lived near a good or any Japanese grocery store, I always used canned aburaage ordered on line.  The advantage is that they are ready to stuff right out of the can and still taste very good.  Think about that!   Still, Just Hungry says that fresh aburaage is better http://www.justhungry.com/inarizushi-sushi-bean-bag-redux-cooking-your-own-inarizushi-skins.

I start out by making my usual tuna salad, but this time with quail eggs because I also wanted to put some hard boiled quail eggs in the bento box.

I used tuna, onion, egg, a little mustard and mayonnaise to make the salad but you can make it however you like it best, just be sure to keep it a little dry, not over-saturated with mayonnaise.

Inarizushi with Tuna

1 large can of tuna

6 hard boiled quail eggs, chopped

1/4 cup mayonnaise

1 tsp mustard

3 spring onions, chopped

4 cups of hot, cooked sushi rice

1 can aburaage/inarizushi, drained

Mix together the tuna, onion, mayonnaise, eggs and mustard.   Open the aburaage pockets and put in a layer of rice, then tuna salad, then rice again.  Sprinkle with furikake and serve with pickled vegetables, such as ginger, carrots, zucchini, cucumber.

The finished bento box consisted of inarizushi, lemon glazed chicken, sweet pickled cucumber, quail eggs, red grapes and Kiri cheese.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in bento, Cooking, Food and Wine, Japanese, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Inarizushi with Tuna

  1. Love the idea of quails’ eggs in the bento box. Check out this blog by HipParis http://hipparis.com/2011/08/01/nanashi-bento-paris-dining-gets-creative/

  2. Wow, looks delicious! Quail’s eggs are so cute :). I’ve never tried one though – are they any different to chicken eggs?

  3. ceciliag says:

    that is superb. There is no japanese store here at all, I would be better off making these in New Zealand where there is quite a japanese population. I loved the shot of the eggs in their white bowl.. gorgeous, maybe I should get quail and have my own quail eggs!! c

  4. This is the most riveting video ever. Katherine and I watched it together and it was a mix of so they add the soy sauce to the… oh look the dog is licking his lips. We want to see the outtakes where it sticks its nose in the bowl of rice. It did get on all fours at one point.

  5. ....RaeDi says:

    I want Opulence, what a beautiful way to eat! If at anytime anyone fits me a meal like this I would wonder if I were a Queen. Your pictures are beautiful! I enjoyed, thank you….RaeDi

  6. Carolyn Jung says:

    What a beautiful bento. I’d be one happy camper if someone made me a lunch to-go like that. 😉

  7. Wonderful post! The video reminds me so much of when we lived in Japan for a year. I loved watching all of the cooking shows! I wish they could have been translated like this one. Your obento looks so delicious. Also, I love the photo with the quail’s eggs.

  8. jade says:

    the video is so funny lol :).

  9. ambrosiana says:

    Your posts always make me hungry!!!!! The bento box is just lovely!!!

  10. You are lucky to have someone to cook for with diverse tastes! Looks delicious 🙂

  11. Love this for the lunch box! Have you joined us at Project Lunch Box yet? This post would be a great link up http://su.pr/221xT1

Leave a Reply

