As Big As Texas: Steak Faux Filet

Do you ever wake up in the morning feeling seriously carnivorous?   Have you been feeling listless, rundown, just not having the energy to accomplish your daily tasks? Maybe you’re suffering from protein deficiency and need to eat some meat (sorry vegetarians, Jenny and Roger) and a lot of it!

My husband and I always disagree on what constitutes a steak plate.   Old school, he always feels that he has to have a baked potato with butter, sour cream and bacon bits along with his steak.  Vegetables are optional.  He’s like that!   No matter how many children have grown up and left home, how many people are actually eating, he still wants to have the huge holiday dinners; turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes, green beans, a bucket of gravy, apple and pumpkin pie.  And God forbid if I forget the cranberry sauce!  As I just did.

Now I like my steak plate as uncluttered as possible.   I want to be able to savor the flavor of the beef.   Anything other than a light salad or some green vegetables, I feel, dilutes the flavor of the beef.   Salt and pepper, maybe a little herbed butter is all one needs for that juicy, savory, delicious, shot of protein.   Anything else is like drinking Chivas Regal with Coke!  Oops!   Sorry French people 🙂

How do you like your steak?

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to As Big As Texas: Steak Faux Filet

  1. That looks delicious! Steak and salad for me too. Though maybe with some onion rings too.
    Lovely simple and tasty food. French butchers do some great steaks, love onglet.
    I’m dribbling at the thought of a nice steak with a large glass of red.
    Cheers
    Marcus

  2. Thank you. I’m with you country! Red would do it.

  3. We’re already planning our Thanksgiving feast. Yes, it’s essentially the same thing each year. This steak looks amazing to me. Veggies optional, that’s funny. I like a potato and a salad, just like on your plate. Oh and did someone say onion rings?

  4. Your steak looks gorgeous! I usually like rib-eyes done medium 😀

    Also, I would really appreciate it if you could take a minute to update my blog url and blog name, it is now “Smoky Wok” from the previous “Tastes of Home” and I finally have a custom domain (smokywok.com) thanks so much!!

  5. Love the red, white and blue tablecloth confirming Americana . Serious steak.

  6. ambrosiana says:

    Great post!! I love steaks with salads!!! Serious food …Don’t mess with Texas!!

  7. ....RaeDi says:

    I agree, and I like a light salad with mine! T is the total opposite, like yours! Love the picture and the steak is making me hungry….RaeDi

  8. Pingback: Steak n’ Bread with salad | Tales of Ambrosia

  9. Steakmaster says:

    It looks delicious! Nice receipt. I will try it!

Leave a Reply

