Coco de Pamiers

I found a package of dried white beans in the supermarket that were interesting.  Small and roundish, they come from Pamiers in the Midi-Pyrenees region of France.   Maybe navy bean like?  I decided to cook them with “Loosiana” style seasoning and some French smoked pork that resembles a vaguely salted, mildly spiced Cajun tasso.

The butcher told me that this pork is usually eaten thinly sliced like a snack.  Perhaps like Bayonne?  He was skeptical as to its value as a bean flavoring.

I thought it was good, giving the beans a smoky flavor, although I thought the butcher should have done a wet salt cure for at least a week before smoking.

Coco de Pamiers

1lb dried coco or navy beans, soaked overnight

4 cloves garlic, finely chopped

1 onion, finely chopped

4 celery branches, finely chopped

1 large red bell pepper, finely chopped

1 red chilli, seeded and finely chopped

1 large smoked ham hock, cut into cubes

2 bay leaves

5 dried thyme sprigs

1 tbsp oregano

Salt and pepper to taste

Put everything into a pot, cover with water, bring to a boil and simmer for 1 1/2 – 2 hours.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Coco de Pamiers

  1. Fabulous bean dish, fab pictures. Are you on drugs?

  2. Sigh, Roger’s making me laugh. Tell him to quit it! I love when you cook Loosiana style. I love about everything you make, but you know I have a soft spot for when you go all stateside on us.

  3. ....RaeDi says:

    I’ll take the drugs Roger (spoke of)…. if this is what they do for cooking and taking pictures….RaeDi

  4. ceciliag says:

    very lovely, ditto all of the above, your ingredients are just gorgeous, it really Looks like the lunch that I would rather be eating today.. c

  5. jade says:

    Incroyable, jadore la photo n°2 : )

  6. ambrosiana says:

    I just love the hearty combination of beans and ham!! This dish is fabulous. I will surely make it!!

  7. Karen says:

    You make a bowl of beans look absolutely great.

  8. Daoulé says:

    In Spain, they about the same dish : it’s called “Cozido”, the only difference (if my memory is good) is they had sausages with the pork !!!

Leave a Reply

