Roasted Garlic Chicken

I have a Greek-Sudanese friend that, no matter how her homemade recipes begin, they always end with, “and then you put lemon”.    She would like this recipe because you begin with a nice chicken, a couple of garlic heads “and then you put lemon” 🙂

I started out today with a chicken and no plan.   In fact, I had the “I can’t be bothered blues”.   The I can’t be bothered blues usually means, whatever is in the house gets cooked, no shopping.  I had celery, potatoes, garlic, onion, 1 carrot and lemon.   Et voila!   It got cooked.

My first idea was to stuff everything but the potatoes into the chicken cavities but I don’t think that would have been as interesting.  But huge amounts of garlic stuffed into the cavities, was interesting!  The aroma coming from the oven had us salivating 20 minutes into cooking time.  The clay pot was well chosen as the roaster for this recipe. Covered, it delivered juicy, golden, garlic infused chicken.  The bonus was those roasted garlic cloves, sweet and spreadable.

Roasted Garlic Chicken

1 roasting chicken

2 garlic heads, cut in half, horizontally

1 lemon, quartered

Salt and pepper

1/4 cup olive oil

2 tbsp butter

2 celery branches, sliced into large pieces

1 carrot, sliced

1 onion, quartered

6 small potatoes, halved

Oregano

Fresh thyme

Season the chicken with salt and pepper, inside and out.    Divide the garlic and lemon and put half in each cavity.  Combine the butter and olive oil.  Truss the chicken well and then brush  with a little of the olive oil mixture, reserving the rest.   Mix the vegetables together in a bowl with oregano, thyme, salt and pepper.   Pour the remaining olive oil over the vegetables, blend well, then put in the bottom of a pre-soaked clay pot.   Put the chicken on top, cover and roast in a 425 degree oven for 1 1/2 hour, removing the cover for the last half hour.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Roasted Garlic Chicken

  1. I love this dish – roast chicken with lemon and garlic is close to perfection. Now, all I need is an oven. By the way, I see the background problem has been solved – second pic down is a blinder.

  2. Classic ingredients for roasting chicken…always delicious!

  3. Roger still doesn’t have an oven! Sorry, got distracted. This is simply succulent. So simple and perfect indeed. And then you put a lemon.

  4. Karen says:

    A lovely roasted chicken…garlic and lemon to enhance the flavor. I miss my clay roaster…cracked when I placed it on the cool granite countertop.

  5. ambrosiana says:

    This is what I call comfort food!! Roasted chicken is so easy to make and so tasty! I like the fact that you used lemon and thyme!! Great shots!

  6. myFudo says:

    Love the presentation. the chicken looks really great. Using lemon on the chicken was a great idea, I know my dad would die to eat this. nice pics.
    feel free to check out my site am giving away a free designer’s lunch bag.

  7. ....RaeDi says:

    I could smell the chicken dish as I read, beautiful picture, I could use lemons everyday! ….RaeDi

Leave a Reply

