Peachy Pecan Apple Crumble

M. Parret  gave me some apples from his tree yesterday that I didn’t know what to do with and I had one peach leftover from the cobbler, so I made this crumble.

Pretty nice apples.   Firm and sweet, they combined well with a little sugar, the peach and water to make a tasty compote.   I was surprised.  I’m not really that good at making desserts, she said, un-apologetically.    Jade ate two 🙂

Peachy Pecan Apple Crumble

4 apples, peeled and coarsely diced

1 peach, peeled and coarsely diced

2 tbsp water

2 tbsp sugar

1/2 cup flour

3 tbsp + 1 tsp brown sugar

1/2 cup pecans, coarsely chopped

4 tbsp cold butter

Combine the apples, peach water and sugar in a pot.   Bring to a boil, then simmer for about 10 minutes.   Divide equally into 4 mini Le Creuset casseroles.

Mix the flour, brown sugar and pecans together.   Cut in the cold butter with 2 knives until it forms a coarse meal, then sprinkle on top of the apples.

Bake for 20 minutes in a 375 degree oven.  Serve with vanilla ice cream, if desired.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Dessert, Food and Wine, Fruit, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Peachy Pecan Apple Crumble

  1. The first shot is terrific – if peaches,pecans and apples are involved, it can only end well.

  2. These look wonderful! We’re trying to avoid wheat, but I’m guessing this recipe would work well with almond flour for a gluten-free version.

    Love the mini-Le Creusets too – fun! (Or is the plural of Le Creuset simply Le Creuset? Like shrimp?) 🙂 Nancy

  3. kjmullally says:

    Well, I am sorry I missed that dessert! Absolutely mouth watering. But bwhere’s the whipped cream??

  4. Katherine would love the little pots. Great recipe. I think the peach would add a nice sweetness and just a bit of a different flavor. Although, I’m a huge fan of peaches and apples. Love the pecan half on top.

  5. Looks absolutely delicious! The little casseroles are too cute, too.

  6. sahmjs says:

    This looks delicious. I was just looking for a good recipe for a crumble topping and these pictures have got me hooked! Lol. This Mom’s Guide to Caring for Little Teeth (http://www.1dental.com/moms-guide/) was really eye opening about what sugar can do to our health, but I love it too much to cut it out completely. These homemade desserts will be a lot better for us than anything packaged we can buy. Thanks for the post!

  7. ambrosiana says:

    I just love those little pots too ( I am with Greg!!). Lovely recipe!!! Where do you get pecans in France? In Italy is impossible to find them!!

  8. I love fruit crumble desserts. They are delicious, and great for the summer time and thanksgiving/christmas holiday season. My favourite is apple crumble, but the peach compliments the apple perfectly in this recipe. Its great served with ice cream, yummy!

  9. Karen says:

    Growing up in Texas, so many desserts involved pecans. This sounds like a delightful combination.

  10. ....RaeDi says:

    We will be starting to pick apples in a few weeks… I love this dish, it looks delicious! ….RaeDi

Leave a Reply

