The Ribs Dilemma

I guess I’m such a whiner.  I’m living in a country with some of the best food in the world but still I miss a few things from home.    One of those things is ribs.   There is a cut here called a traverse de porc that is supposed to be the equivalent of American ribs.    But it’s not.  It’s some random piece of pork in the general area of the ribs, with 2 or 3 bones and a surprise layer of fat.   I know why this is, I’m not butchery insensitive!   It’s because they are using the rib portion for an in demand traditional French cut.   Ribs are not really in demand here, other than as a novelty, and the French use the traverse de porc to make American rib recipes, blissfully ignorant of what they are missing.

Your other rib option is to buy a prepackaged, parboiled, rack of unappetizing, tasteless pork ribs and, according to package directions, cook for 8 minutes in the oven and you’re good to go.  Not.   The ribs, coming out of the package, look gray.   I’m sure that 8 minutes would just turn them to dark gray.

So what I did, immediately turning the page on that “8 minutes”, was to cook the ribs first on one side for 10 minutes, then turned them and cooked them for another 10 minutes, to get the gray out.  🙂   This has to be done carefully because they have been parboiled and could easily fall apart.  After that, I painted them with Masterpiece BBQ sauce and cooked them for 5 minutes per side.

Not even close to real BBQ ribs but okay.   I wonder if there are German butchers in Paris….

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Ribs Dilemma

  1. I wish I could mail you some good ribs so you could bbq them like your dad did!

    • Thank you Greg. I think what I’ll end up doing is the next time I travel to or someone travels from the States, we’ll pack several slabs in the suitcase. A tried and true method.

  2. ambrosiana says:

    How funny!! I also miss ribs in Italy. I remember once going to the butcher and try to explain him the cut I wanted. He finally got it but did not give me the rack – only spare ribs. I even had to make barbecue sauce from scratch. The problem was that I could not find the smoky liquid so I bought smoked pancetta and it worked out well!! Great post and those ribs look delicious!!!

  3. Fantastic! A ribs that could launch a thousand knife 🙂 I love the way its featured.

Leave a Reply

