Peach Cobbler

I got my first issue of Jamie magazine today!   It showcases French food.   I don’t know if I’m going to be able to stop my self from cooking nearly everything in it!   Oh, well.

Speaking of Jamie, this peach cobbler is from my new book, Jamie Oliver’s America. A nice blend of fresh, juicy peaches, ginger, orange, lime and brown sugar topped with luscious, buttery drop biscuits.

As a child, peach cobbler was one of my favorite desserts.   While we had sweet potato pie, apple and mincemeat (bleah) for Thanksgiving and Christmas, peach cobbler was an any day kind of dessert along with rice or bread pudding.   I haven’t made this for ages!  I guess it’s gone the way of my pineapple upside down cake and vanilla wafer banana pudding; moved on.

Peach Cobbler  

8 peaches, peeled and quartered

1 tsp vanilla

Zest of 1 lime

Zest of 1 orange and it’s juice

1/4 cup brown sugar

1 inch fresh ginger, grated

1/2 cup water

1/4 cup pine nuts, ground

1/2 cup flour

1/4 cup sugar

1/4 cup cold butter, cut into pieces

2 tbsp water

In a baking dish, mix the peaches, vanilla, zests, juice, brown sugar and ginger together.   Cook the peaches in a preheated 500 degree oven for about 15 minutes.  Remove and pour in the 1/2 cup of water, scraping the sides and blending well.

In a food processor, blend the pine nuts and flour.   Add the butter and pulse until the flour resembles large crumbs.  Add the water and process until the mixture forms a dough ball.  Divide into 6 pieces and distribute over the top of the peaches.

Bake for 20 minutes and serve hot with ice cream or whipped cream.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Dessert, Food and Wine, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Peach Cobbler

  1. Looks so delicious. I think we’re wordpress’ chief promoters of Jamie 😀

  2. ambrosiana says:

    Looks amazing and delicious!! I have heard so mch about this Jamie magazine! I am checking it out!

  3. Cobblers are still popular here. I love the inclusion of ginger and how much fun you’re having with your new cookbook.

  4. Fab recipe combined with excellent pictures – top of the class.

  5. Karen says:

    Why do we stop making some of the recipes from our past when the result is still so delicious. I grew up with peach cobbler being one of my favorite summer desserts and it still is.

    • I think we get caught up in the food fad of the moment and leave behind those great recipes that are still great but forgotten in the heat of the future 🙂 At least, I think that’s what happens to me.

  6. Pingback: Top 10 Peach Desserts That Will Leave You Craving For More

Leave a Reply

