Mushroom Tarte with Marinated Tomatoes

Today the temperature will be in the 90s here in Sens.  So since I wanted to make a mushroom tarte, which meant oven, I started cooking at 7 this morning, right after walking the dog.  I saw some tomatoes on Greg’s site that I liked and thought would be nice with the tarte    http://rufusguide.wordpress.com/2011/08/17/marinated-tomatoes/.  I didn’t have any fresh oregano, so I just sprinkled the tomatoes with dried and added some fresh basil.

I love it that I have this huge bottle of sherry that I don’t know how I came by.   “Sheffield, the tractor of very dry sherries!”   This looks like something my husband might have gotten at Costco just in case I had to make marinated tomatoes for a busload of relatives from hell.   So thoughtful.   Thanks darlin’.  Oak mellowed.

Because of the storm, the kitchen was almost completely dark when I took the sherry/tomato pictures but amazingly, I was still able to get fairly decent images.   The shutter took forever to close, but still.   I love my Canon!  I love Roger Stowell, as well!

Mushroom Tarte

1 pre-rolled puff pastry

1 shallot, chopped

2 garlic cloves, chopped

2 tbsp olive oil

1lb of mixed forest mushrooms

2 tbsp parsley, chopped

15 cl creme fraiche

1 egg, beaten

50 grams of shaved parmesan

Put the pastry in a pie plate, poke a few holes in it and refrigerate until ready to use.

Cook the shallots and garlic in the olive oil until soft, add the mushrooms and cook for about 2 minutes.   Set aside and allow to cool.  When cool, place in the bottom of the pastry lined plate and sprinkle with the parsley.

Beat the creme fraiche and egg together, then pour over the mushrooms.   Bake in a 400 degree oven for 25 minutes.   Just before serving, sprinkle with the shaved parmesan.

Wine suggestion:  Veuve Cliquot Champagne

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes, side dish and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Mushroom Tarte with Marinated Tomatoes

  1. Lovely. That looks really delicious. Great photography too! shame the temperature is no where near yours…

  2. This looks like a wonderful meal. I see you like garlic as much as we do. Great photos too. And thanks for the shout out.

  3. You are on a roll!!!!!!!!! I am now officially starving once again.

  4. jade00 says:

    trop bien photographier la photo de: IMG_1733bb

  5. joshuafagans says:

    What a lovely looking meal. Thought those tomatoes looked familiar.

  6. Stefanie says:

    Delicious looking tarte! And the tomatoes look like a very tasty side

Leave a Reply

