Lamb with Fava Beans

My new orchid, shot in the Stowell vertical method.    Does this have anything to do with fava beans?    No.

I had quite a lot of left over roast lamb from the other day https://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2011/08/09/grilled-curried-leg-of-lamb-and-the-harpy/ and we had already exhausted the sandwich option.   The idea of another cottage pie about bored me to death.

I decided to go with the “Loosiana” method of cutting things up before you know what you’re going to make.  It worked for my mother and grandmother.  I cut up green peppers, onions, garlic, ginger, left over lamb and some tomatoes from M. Parret’s garden.   The vegetables and lamb started to look ragout-like.

I had some ravishing fava beans that looked like they belonged in this pot.  So after the vegetables had cooked for about 30 minutes, I added the fava and heated them in the stew for about 7 minutes.

Lamb with Fava Beans

2 cups of roast lamb, cut into cubes

1 onion, coarsely chopped

1 green bell pepper, coarsely chopped

3 garlic cloves, chopped

4 thin slices of fresh ginger, finely chopped

2 tbsp olive oil

4 small tomatoes, coarsely chopped

1 cup chicken broth

2 cups of fresh fava beans, shelled and peeled

Saute the onion, bell pepper, garlic and ginger in the olive oil until the onion is soft.  Add the lamb cubes and continue to cook for about 4 minutes.  Add the tomatoes, chicken broth, bring to a boil and simmer for 30 minutes.  Add the fava beans and continue to cook for another 7 minutes.

Wine suggestion:   Brouilly

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Lamb with Fava Beans

  1. Karen says:

    Your orchid is lovely…I’m glad you included it with your post. The meal you created with your roasted lamb sounds delicious.

  2. I love this Loosiana method. That really made me smile. Nothing wrong with gratuitous flower shots either. What a great post. Oh, and did I mention I love the recipe too.

  3. Delicious recipe served up with a pack of mouth watering pics.

  4. ambrosiana says:

    This dish looks delicious!! I love fava beans with lamb! Great combination!

  5. joshuafagans says:

    I just adore lava beans. This sounds like an excellent way to use them!

Leave a Reply

