Toast

When we first bought the house in France, my husband took a few days off from work in Mali to go to France for the closing and to purchase some basic appliances for the kitchen.

The previous owner had removed pretty much everything; the refrigerator, the dishwasher, the oven, light fixtures, the downstairs bathroom sink, etc.   She did leave the toilets; too tacky to take.  I mean the toilets, not her.  But her too.

Anyway, my husband bought a refrigerator, a coffee maker, a microwave and a really ugly toaster.  Cheap was the by-word here.   We intended to just use the house as a holiday camp site, so a functioning appliance was more important than quality.  Which was just fine with my darlin.

My husband almost never eats cold bread, unless it’s a fresh baguette, and even these he prefers hot from the baker’s oven.   He toasts everything.   And he toasts everything a nice even black.   Every morning the scent of charcoal is sure to be in the air.  I think he got this from his father.   I vaguely remember looking askance at his father’s toast when we first married and visited their home.

Now, I have always believed that everyone should eat food to their taste, not to yours. So, he certainly has a right to eat blackened bread if he likes it.  The bone of contention here has been that he turns the toaster up to black/dry and if you’re not thinking, you pop in some bread and take out a piece of square, thin charcoal.    Heave!

That’s why I bought this cool, 4 slice Cuisinart toaster (also the old one was destroying my new kitchen’s ambiance).   There are “dual independent controls” which means that you can set the left side (he’s left handed) to black/dry and the right side to normal toast for regular people.    Happy Birthday, Honey!

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Kitchen tools and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Toast

  1. jade00 says:

    The bone of contention here has been that he turns the toaster up to black/dry and if you’re not thinking, you pop in some bread and take out a piece of square, thin charcoal. Heave!
    :D…that’s so funny ,love it 🙂

  2. This made me chuckle. Our cheap toaster will not die, so we’ve had it for oh almost a decade. That’s kind of making me jealous.

  3. Karen says:

    I don’t like my english muffins black but I do like them brown and crispy. I can’t find a toaster that makes them anything but anemic beige and soft. Maybe it’s because of the nooks and crannies. I don’t think I will ever find the perfect toaster.

    • Hi Karen. When I was researching toasters, I saw some with large slots and/or racks that you place over the slots to accomadate bagels and english muffins. I forget who made them but search “english muffin/bagel toaster”.

Leave a Reply

