Wagamama Makes Miso Happy!

Well the gas grill is up and working just in time for the gorgeous weather we’re having here in the Bourgogne.   I threw in the Bourgogne because my son’s friend thinks Burgundy sounds funny.  Obviously it’s a language problem.

I found 2 half price packages of chicken fillets in the Carrefour bin and immediately thought of the grill and my Wagamama cookbook.  I’ve had my eye on their Chargrilled Chicken and Miso Soup since the winter.   When I was in Paris I bought a huge bucket of miso, so I was ready.   Kind of.   I forgot to get pak choi at the market yesterday.  There’s none in the supermarkets so I just threw in some mache which wasn’t bad.  Soba noodles are not to be found in Sens so I also substituted with vermicelli noodles.   Maybe my good, thoughtful, kind son will bring me some when he comes down next time 🙂

The marinade for the chicken is so simple.   If you like, you can prepare it the day before and leave the chicken in the refrigerator overnight.   But an hour is good enough.

The broth is also simple to make.   This is where the miso comes in.

Chargrilled Chicken, Soba and Miso Soup (Wagamama Cookbook)

500 g skinless chicken fillets

2 tbsp hoisin sauce

1 tbsp mirin

1 tbsp fish sauce (nuoc mam)

1 1/2 liters of chicken broth

2 tbsp miso paste

3 cm of ginger, sliced

4 garlic cloves, sliced

200 g soba noodle

2 pak choi , roughly chopped

2 hard boiled eggs

Mix the chicken, hoisin sauce, nuoc mam and mirin and refrigerate for 1 hour or overnight. Grill the chicken for about 5 minutes per side.

Bring the broth, garlic, ginger and miso to a boil, then add the noodles and pak choi, cooking for 3 minutes.  Divide the soup between four bowls, placing the chicken and half a boiled egg on top.

Miso on Foodista

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, Japanese, Main dishes, Soup and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wagamama Makes Miso Happy!

  1. Babygirl says:

    WOW, You definitely had me drooling reading and looking at the photos on this post lol. I love how you grilled the chicken on this dish. I have to save this and try it out. Thanks for sharing this wonderful delectable.

Leave a Reply

