This Is Not Hard: Boneless and Stuffed Coquelet or Cornish Game Hen

I don’t think I cook many things that are really complicated. That’s probably why I don’t bake cakes; too fiddly.

After all I’m not a chef, just a woman who thinks food is interesting. So if I debone poultry, and I have been doing it for about 30 years, you can believe that it’s not hard. Okay, that crazy time I deboned a whole turkey, that was hard, but so impressive!

If you have ever cut up a chicken, you are already half way there. That means that you are familiar with chicken bones. The pictures I took of me deboning my coquelet will just make you angry. Here is a good website for deboning a chicken: http://www.academiabarilla.com/recipes/how-to/boning-chicken.aspx.  I leave the drumsticks and wings on so that it still looks like a bird.

Here is my coquelet with a nice blue elastic string for trussing.

I cut down the back of the bird.

By scraping along the bone, I separate the ribcage from the meat, first one side and then the other, popping the thigh bones out of the sockets along the way.

I continue to scrape bones from the breast area, removing some smaller bones (wishbone) and scrape the meat from the thigh, detaching it from the drumstick socket.  Do look at the website if you are losing heart.

Finished.  Once you have done this for the first time, it takes about 10-15 minutes but it’s not a race.  Enjoy yourself.

Press about 3 cups of stuffing onto your bird; I only used 2 cups and I think it was too little to make a plump bird.  I also stuffed the thighs.

Sew the bird up the back, reforming to resemble a coquelet/game hen with bones.  Salt, pepper and sprinkle with dried thyme or sage or both.   Brush with butter and roast at 375 degrees for 1 hour and 30 minutes.   Allow to cool.  Remove wings and drumsticks, then cut the body in slices.

I made a stock by boiling carrots, onions, giblets, the coquelet carcass, bay leaf and thyme.

With the stock I made a southern style gravy from flour and oil,  with a dash of port.

This week I have been making an effort at emptying the freezer and refrigerator so that I can guiltlessly buy more exciting things to cook.   The stuffing was in the freezer, left over from Christmas.   The coquelet was in the freezer, along with the brussel sprouts. The giblets were in the freezer.

Once you have deboned your poultry, the sky is the limit.   You can change up your stuffings, sauces and baste with whatever you like.   There is an elegance to this roast that cries out for dinner guests.

Wine suggestion:  Macon Village

Rock Cornish Hen on Foodista

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to This Is Not Hard: Boneless and Stuffed Coquelet or Cornish Game Hen

  1. I could eat that. Love Brussel sprouts too!

Leave a Reply

