The Camera Battery Situation

IMG_6611bOkay, long story short, I packed my battery charger in the airfreight.  When I took these pictures I had one black, blinking block showing on the camera.  Lord have mercy!  It’s not fun to take pictures when you’re stressing over the possibility of camera blackout.  Anyway.

IMG_6599b

Finding it impossible to stop shopping, even though I’m leaving on Tuesday, I bought four pretty red mullets from Steve at the fishmonger.  I told him I wanted to stuff them but wanted him to cut them up the belly, instead along the back, his preferred cut for stuffing. Really, the French can be so stubborn!  With people queuing in a long line behind, we had this snarling argument about the “correct” method of cutting fish for stuffing.  Of course he did it like I asked but couldn’t stop mumbling under his breath, probably making snide, anti-American comments the whole time he was preparing the fish.  It didn’t help that I made snide comments aloud at the same time :p

IMG_6572b

In addition, I bought some enormous, yellow chicken legs for baking using the sel fou and pepper overnight marinade, then flour coating and baked in butter method.

IMG_6579b

Just think about it.  You can have crispy, succulent chicken without the deep fat frying as long as you use butter in the baking pan.  It’s frugal, Frugal and the just plain good!

IMG_6616b

I was supposed to make a cauliflower/yam gratin but ran out of steam between selling the car, controlling the dog and drinking wine.  Anyway, the fish entree was pretty filling, so I just steamed some yams and left it at that. No one complained.

IMG_6639b

Okay, seriously this time, I’ll see you in Pennsylvania.

Red Mullet Stuffed with Aubergine (Inspiration French Saveurs Magazine: July-August 2014)

2 tbsp olive oil

2 large garlic cloves, chopped

1 aubergine, cut into small dice

2 tbsp fresh basil, chopped

4 largish red mullet, gutted and boned

Salt and pepper

1 tbsp olive oil

Cook the garlic in the olive oil for 1 minute, add the aubergine and continue to cook for 10 minutes.  Remove from the flame, stir in the basil and allow to cool.

Stuff the mullet with the cooled aubergine mixture, tie with kitchen string, season with salt and pepper, then brown in the hot olive oil for about 4 minutes per side.

 

 

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, fish, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to The Camera Battery Situation

  1. Joyce says:

    Is it possible to find our how Quincy did?

    • Hi Joyce. Quincy is at home in Pennsylvania, checking out his new surroundings and eating a lot of food. I’m sure he misses me but I will be there in a couple of days.

      • Joyce says:

        Thank goodness! At our house even Tootie was concerned….and Hubby too. We moved to Estonia years ago and our darling Snoozle died soon after arrival and it was the most anguish this family ever experienced. She got kidney failure from not enough water on the trip. She is buried in the beautiful woods of Estonia. But we still miss her today. So…..I guess that is why we were SO concerned for Quincy and will breathe easier now….smile

        • That’s terrible, Joyce! If airlines are incapable of providing the care pets need during travel, they should just honestly refuse to accept pets. I think after my travel with my puppy on Tuesday, we’ll go with the specialty companies for pet travel.

          • Joyce says:

            Great idea. We have never subjected any of our pets to that horror again and it was just carelessness of the airline. It they were under the 12 lb limit required to allow them to be under my seat, they did not fly. Our Russian friends gave us a darling white kitty before we left and moved back to the States, and as I flew back and forth, a few times he managed to get out and run the isles. He was the grand show. After 12 lbs……no more flying for Winston. I did manage to feed and water him while flying and hold and love on him. Thanks again for the update. Thank God for pets!

  2. Michelle says:

    That looks delicious, I always use butter when frying chicken it gives it a taste that’s out of this world. The fish stuffed sounds great. I will have to try that. What fix do you recommend I’m in California and if I want fresh fish I have to go to the international market. Food looks yummy.

    • Thank you Michelle. Barbet is mullet in French. You could stuff a whole red snapper with this also. I really don’t know. I’m worried myself about what fish I’m going to eat when I get to PA :) That’s so weird! California is on the coast!

  3. Laura Hanson says:

    Safe travels! I would love the salt and pepper overnight marinade and oven fried chicken recipe. I could not locate it on the Frugal site. BTW, as long as you are near a Whole Foods store in PA, you will have lovely, fresh fish! Thank you, Laura

    • Thank you Laura. The chicken recipe is mine. You cut the legs into drumsticks and thighs, mix to coat with 2 tbsp of sel fou (a salt French rub but you can use Emeril’s essence or my Bavarian essence) and pepper, refrigerate over night, then dredge in flour. Put two tbsp melted butter in a baking pan, place the chicken in, skin side down, then bake for 30 minutes in a 400 F oven, turn and continue to bake for 20-25 minutes.

  4. skd says:

    I am a seafood lover and kept scrolling up to see the first pic. That fish looks incredibly delicious 😋 I was expecting the recipe for the fish too 😞

  5. Mad Dog says:

    Excellent mullet!
    The French are always correct ;-)

  6. cecilia says:

    I can’t wait to see what you are going to be cooking Stateside! It will be such a change to have you home.. c

  7. MELewis says:

    Your energy in the face of an international move and the immutable French is inspiring. Bon courage!

  8. Bon voyage, Rosemary. I haven’t been paying attention….I didn’t realise that the hour was upon us. Looking forward to the first US posts…when you get your camera charged:)

  9. Magic. It all looks great. I really want that damn chicken!! :)

  10. Looks amazing – bon voyage and keep drinking the wine :)

  11. I hope the move goes will for you and glad Quincy made it safely. Great looking dishes and now I’ll have to look into using butter for the chicken!

  12. Love the fish. Bon voyage!

  13. Karen says:

    By now you must be on your way to Pennsylvania. Good luck and welcome back to the states. Looking forward to your cooking adventures in your new kitchen.

  14. Mary Frances says:

    Beautiful fish. I love aubergine.

  15. Conor Bofin says:

    Travel safely Rosemary. Lovely chicken BTW.

  16. Looks terrific! Have a safe trip and looking forward to reading about your adventures in PA!

  17. Red mullet is one of my favorite fish…unfortunately, I have not had any success finding these colorful fish at any local fishmongers. Your photos of the red mullet are lovely!

  18. The chicken looks gorgeous! What was the marinade?

Leave a Reply

