Veal and Beans

IMG_6423b

Tomorrow a journalist from a local, regional newspaper, L’Yonne Republicaine, will come to interview me about my blog.  This is particularly gratifying because although I’ve known that I have quite a few French followers, my blog is in English and Google Translate is pretty frivolous with most of it’s translations.  I thought we would meet up at La Litteraire for coffee where I could flaunt my celebrity in front of my friends :D  However, he specifically said he wanted pictures of my kitchen.

IMG_6334b

These are the unpacked boxes of kitchen equipment that came in from Germany.  As I am on my way to the States until probably next summer, I see no reason to unpack them. Instead, I thought I would take some test pictures to be ready with suggestions of carton-less pictures.

IMG_6316b

Here’s a good one.  Herbs with just a hint of window, American refrigerator and red timer clock.  I like it myself :)

IMG_6352b

Canisters with hanging tools, toaster, the left side of the stove and the microwave.

IMG_6364b

And here you go!  A goodly portion of the stove, almost all of the hood and the stove- picture-blocking island with knives and cutting boards.  You can just see the coats hanging in the entry way. Mah-velous.

IMG_6384b

Kitchen sink with giraffe paper towel holder.  Good.  I’m ready now ;)

IMG_6385b

Anyway.  I like these canned French beans in the rectangular can.  I like the can and the beans are fairly good quality; a better pork and beans without the pork.

IMG_6407b

As children we always liked pork and beans because my mother never just poured them from the can, heated and served them.  She always fixed them up with something; onions, mustard and brown sugar as a side dish or used them as the basis for a savory stew/casserole of some kind.  Today I made a stew-like dish with veal.  You could mound this over rice for bulk if you wanted.

Veal and Beans

2 tbsp olive oil

1/2 onion, thinly sliced

3 garlic cloves, chopped

1 slice fresh ginger, minced

1 mild chilli, seeded

1/2 green bell pepper, diced

1 lb ground veal

1 tsp fresh thyme, chopped

1 tsp fresh oregano, chopped

1 bay leaf

1 tsp piment d’espelette

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp pepper

1 can diced tomatoes

2 cups canned white beans

Grated cheese

Saute the onion, garlic, ginger, chilli and bell pepper in the oil until the onion is wilted.  Add the veal and continue to saute until all pink has disappeared.  Add the thyme, oregano, bay leaf, piment, salt, pepper and tomatoes, then bring to a boil and simmer for 15 minutes.

Stir in the beans and continue to simmer for another 15 minutes.  Put in serving bowls and sprinkle with grated cheese.

 

 

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Veal and Beans

  1. Simple, delicious and not (too) expensive. This is right up my street – even in the hot summer.

  2. What a fantastic kitchen. Love the clock!

  3. ElPobre says:

    Looks delicious. Ground veal is not available in our area, so we will try it with ground pork. Thanks for another awesome recipe.

  4. I love your photos, especially your sink! And pork and beans are always a winner in our house :) Good luck with the interview, hope we get to see it and bask in the shadow of your fame!

  5. Good luck with the interview! Your stove with the backsplash is very pretty.

  6. hoytapeo says:

    This recipe will make us crazy :) We promisse trying to cook the same way you did :)

    Kind Regards

  7. The clock and the stove are lovely!

  8. Mad Dog says:

    I hope the journalist will insist you stay in Sens ;-)

  9. AnotherDish says:

    The veal and beans look delicious, and the boxes in your kitchen look artfully placed. Pls look me up if you come to Massachusetts.

  10. andmorefood says:

    love the red clock!

  11. I would sort that out! Good luck with the interview and I love the giraffe towel holder! Effing love it! Smiley face

  12. This looks fantastic. Thanks for sharing. Emma.

  13. Karen says:

    Boxes or not, your kitchen looks great and I think they will be impressed how you have created your delicious cooking while in the process of moving. :)

  14. What a beautiful peek into your kitchen! Thank you for sharing, Rosemary!

  15. nwando7 says:

    your blog always inspires me, food wise. thanks

Leave a Reply

