Charolais Steak and Salad

IMG_6304b

Whenever I have a Charolais steak I always prepare it as simply as possible; salt, pepper, maybe with onions and or mushrooms.  Good beef doesn’t need much.  Today for lunch I quickly seared this rather thin steak in butter and added a salad for propriety’s sake.  The Tavel Rose was a perfect accompaniment for this simple plate.  Also summer time is Rose season in France :)

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Charolais Steak and Salad

  1. acasadisimi says:

    i love steak! in italy is famous fiorentina steak

  2. Wilmar B. says:

    That looks so delicious!

  3. Mad Dog says:

    You are right – I don’t even use much salt.
    It’s definitely rosé season and when I popped into a supermarket earlier for a bottle, I was handed a gin and tonic! It wasn’t even lunchtime, but in the current heatwave it was very welcome ;-)

  4. I love rosé season! And now I want a steak for dinner.

  5. Have one tiny and the rose too :)

  6. Your meals always look so well-balanced. By that I mean they always include wine! Seriously, you are so right about a good bit of steak not needing much.

  7. Conor Bofin says:

    Very nice Rosemary. A good steak really doesn’t need to be over-complicated.

  8. I love your post !
    Follow me ;) !
    cookandfashion.wordpress.com

  9. Ah yes. Simple and damn well effective!!

  10. kathysimmons says:

    forgive me marketing on your site Rose, but roses reminded me. Grignan, a beautiful small village written about in the diaries of Mme Sevigne (whose daughter lived in the castle there) , just 30 minutes east of Montelimar (nougat capital of france) is known for it’s roses, climbing up the ancient village walls, dozens of colors, sizes, fragrances. All in May. Heaven if Rose is a favorite.

  11. Hi Kathy. Are you involved in a travel agency now? I looked up Mme Sevigne. Interesting that her family was from Burgundy.

Leave a Reply

