Interlude

IMG_6190b

Pack out was a nightmare but it’s done.  I wisely went to the vet and got some drugs for Jessie and so she had a very laid back train trip from Stuttgart to Sens.

IMG_0222

I-do-not-understand what happens when I put my camera on automatic and all the pictures come out dark!  I had to “auto fix” with photoshop which is not really satisfying and in this case was unfortunate because I had roquefort mussels and Bavarian ribs with M. Parret, Chantal and Tonio.  I air freighted my tripod to the U.S. and thought I would be able to use Jade’s that’s here in the Sens house but the thing attached to my camera that usually fits onto the tripod is not the right shape and won’t fit Jade’s tripod, so I put my camera on automatic to reduce the blur.  Dark!  So that’s why.  Bloody automatic.  I love cursing in British English :D

IMG_6194b

The roquefort mussels were fabulous!  Too bad you can’t really see them.  So fake!  I had to put the brightness on to above 100.  Boo hoo hoo :)

IMG_6200b

These fresh garden tomatoes look like something you would find on a puzzle piece.  Jesus, Mary and Joseph!

IMG_6202b

These pictures are not Roger Stowell’s fault.  He’s probably going to pretend he didn’t see this post :D  Shaking his head and writing an e-book entitled “Why Rosemary Can’t Learn.”  I give up!

 

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, fish, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Interlude

  1. Poor Jessie. I hope she’s ok. The mussels look delicious. Emma.

  2. Mad Dog says:

    Ha ha – it’s great to see you back in Sens!
    Photoshop has done a good job and reportage photography is different to controlling the light in “at home” studio conditions, so there’s nothing to be ashamed of. It’s a good idea to monitor the pictures as you take them and if they look a bit dark adjust the ISO setting to a higher number, such as 200 or 400… or take the food to the window ;-)

  3. Bahaha. That’s a great post. You should have personality conflicts with you camera/photos/jades tripod more often. Smiley face

    I luuuurve blue cheese mussels PS

  4. this looks delicious and healthy… yumo!

  5. cecilia says:

    Jesus, Mary and Joseph!! Ha ha ha ha.. you are bad rosemary!! love it!.. c

  6. Amanda says:

    This looks so good! I love mussels. What a cute doggie!

  7. Mary Frances says:

    Funny post! Those mussels still look great even though you were having camera troubles!

  8. It’s so frustrating when the photos don’t come out like you planned. Even if you take a ton. Your puppy is adorable. :)

  9. Michelle says:

    So, are y’all coming to the U.S. soon? (Dumb question. I’m sure you wouldn’t have shipped the tripod here if not.) Hmmm. I look forward to your posts. You may find it worse than Germany. ;)

    • The problem with the U.S. is going to be finding uncontaminated food. Our town is nice and so are our house and neighbors. But it’s not France and there will be whining :D

Leave a Reply

