Crispy Duck Legs with Roasted Vegetables

IMG_6053b

Yesterday I went back to the house to get the 2 packages of duck legs, good butter, Jean Louis’ duck breasts, foie gras slices and assorted fish from the remaining refrigerator freezer.  I took some other things out of the freezer also, but honestly, I abandoned a lot.  Sometimes you just have to walk away.  ¯\_(ツ)_/¯  I did grab some soy sauce, a few jars of spices and other food enhancers, but who can live otherwise?!

IMG_5987b

I must confess that this is not the first time we’ve walked away from perfectly good food but happily we were in underdeveloped countries where many people literally do not know where there next meal is coming from and you could easily and happily just give it away.  In Sens, I often transfer the contents of the fridge and, if I’m going to be away a long time, the freezer to M. Parret who shares it with the rest of our friends.  Unfortunately, in Stuttgart, there isn’t a soul who I would feel comfortable offering my “leftovers.”  So that’s why.

IMG_6000b

There really is no way you can go wrong with fat, succulent French duck legs.  I first seasoned and seared them in a hot skillet.  After removing the legs, I added a heaping tablespoon of goose fat to the duck fat in the pan and stirred it into my prepared vegetables.  Real good idea.

IMG_6077b

My husband ate this for lunch in a perfectly healthy way.  With gusto :)

IMG_6028b

 

Crispy Duck Legs with Roasted Vegetables

4 large potatoes, cut into 8ths each

3 carrots, sliced

2 small fennel bulbs, slice

1 large onion, cut into 8 pieces

Salt and pepper

Smoked paprika

Dried for fresh thyme, chopped

4 duck legs, seasoned with salt, pepper and garlic powder

1 heaping tbsp goose fat

Place the potatoes, carrots, fennel and onion in a large bowl, season with salt, pepper, paprika and thyme.  Set aside.

Brown and sear the duck legs in a hot skillet.  Remove the legs and set aside.  Add the goose fat to the hot skillet, stirring and scraping up the brown bits.  Stir the contents of the skillet into the prepared vegetables.

Put the vegetables in a roasting pan, top with the legs, cover and roast at 350 F for 1 1/2 hour. Uncover, increase the oven temperature to 400 F and continue to roast for another 30 minutes.

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Crispy Duck Legs with Roasted Vegetables

  1. Mad Dog says:

    You definitely can’t leave those behind ;-)

  2. With the ducky again! You must’ve had a freezer full of that stuff… good use of a freezer though I suppose. Smiley face

  3. platedujour says:

    These look delicious. My boyfriend and I love duck. Great recipe :)

  4. Mary Frances says:

    I pains me to have to abandon perfectly good food. It is however, sometimes a necessary evil.

    Those legs are to die for! The skin was browned perfectly!

  5. Oh my goodness. Perfection.

  6. KhoaSinclair says:

    The duck looks crisp and tender to perfection!

  7. Michelle says:

    I see you’re making do. ;) So, how long in the tajine killing stove apartment?

  8. That’s a very good dish indeed…looks great

  9. sarahgiebens says:

    I love duck!
    This looks so good!

  10. Reblogged this on Brie and Basil and commented:
    Simple and delicious. Americans really should consider using duck more regularly.

  11. I’d eat it with gusto too!

  12. That does look crispy, Rosemary.

  13. whipadish says:

    Another winner! Looks mouthwatering delicious! I am drooling – hahaha! :D

  14. Looks delicious – will definitely be having a try.

Leave a Reply

