Happy

IMG_5862b

Time to start moving some of this duck onward.  Remember the time I served my husband skinless chicken breasts 3 days running before he noticed?  Well, I’ve got more than 3 days worth of duck legs and breasts, let’s see what I come up with.  To begin, my original idea was to make magret de canard aux cerises.  I found some ENORMOUS cherries in the Waiblingen market with that idea in mind but I ate them all and they were good :)

IMG_5715b

That left the green seedless grapes.  I did eat a lot of those also but there was enough left to make a compote.  My favorite fruits have always been small, round and firm or maybe just small and firm because I like strawberries a lot too.

IMG_5786b

My plan is to walk the dog and cook from the freezer in the mornings, then sort through our things for pack out in the afternoons.  The afternoons will be drudgery and I don’t know why we felt that we needed all this stuff!  Still, nothing last forever and it will be done and over eventually.  I miss going to coffee :(

IMG_5797b

I’ve not been myself.  My husband needed a replacement part and, as he himself is irreplaceable, I’ve been quite frightened.  Because the Germans are considered some of the best mechanics for this procedure, we decided that he would go to the “garage” here and get everything over with before he retired.  Yesterday they opened up his hood, successfully replaced a valve and now he’s good to go! Aren’t the Germans clever people?! I love them so much!  It’s okay to put rice in your burritos now :D

 

IMG_5848b

Duck Breasts with Herbs and Green Grape Compote

2 tbsp sugar

2 tbsp butter

1 cinnamon stick

6 tbsp water

4 cups seedless green grapes

2 duck breasts, fat scored

Salt and pepper

Assorted herbs (thyme, sage, rosemary), chopped

4 small courgettes, chaos cut, steamed and buttered

Bring the sugar, butter, cinnamon stick and water to a boil in a sauce pan.  Add the grapes, cover and simmer for 15-20 minutes.  Set aside and keep warm.

Season the duck breasts with salt and pepper, then rub in the herbs.  In a preheated skillet, sear the breasts, fat side down, for about 6 minutes.  Remove the accumulated fat, turn the duck breasts and cook for about another 6 minutes or until done to taste.

Let the breasts rest for about 10 minutes, slice and serve with the grapes and courgettes.

 

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Fruit, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Happy

  1. alifemoment says:

    Nice recipe, I’m always happy when I cook :)

  2. jmcheney says:

    So glad to hear the valve job has been successful & is behind you all. Now on to the tasks ahead & delicious duck feasts. J.

  3. Oh my gosh your duck looks perfect. Hope your husband is doing well!

  4. My French Heaven says:

    I love this song! It is my new alarm sound. Can you believe a group of people were recently arrested in Iran because they had posted a video of themselves dancing to the tune of it on the internet?!… It makes one so aware of how lucky we are… Looking at your food pics makes me happy too by the way ;)

    • It’s a great song! I read that about Iran but I am not truly surprised. It’s unfortunate that so many repressive regimes continue to exist. Thank you for the picture compliment :)

  5. cecilia says:

    So glad that all went well.. that would be very stressful.. hope everything is going well in the other family garages as well. c

  6. Mad Dog says:

    That sounds like good news.
    If you’ve got too much duck, you can FedEx it to me and make me happy ;-)

  7. So glad the mechanic was able to fix your husband and get him out of the garage and on the road again! Lovely duck.

  8. Michelle says:

    So glad you finally got something (really, really!) good from the Germans! Worth all the sub-par butchery and such that you’ve endured. But, really, let’s still not put rice in the burritos. :)

  9. There you go with the damn duck again!! Once bacon week is over duck shall be on my table! I especially like the chaos cut… Never got taught that one. Smiley face

  10. Here’s to a quick recovery for your husband! Always scary to go through.

  11. Well you’ve done it again. Love the grape compote with the duck. Superb.

  12. You’ve had a truly tough 7 or 8 months Rosemary – you deserve everything in the world that makes you smile :)

  13. Beautiful, Rosemary! And so glad to hear that your husband’s procedure went well!

Leave a Reply

