Casse-Croûte

IMG_5315b

I had forgotten about this meal and the pictures I took.  My husband came up to Sens last Friday to load my affairs and animals into the car and drag me back to Stuttgart.  Of course everyone wanted to say hello to him and good-bye to us both, so I suggested a 6:00 p.m. casse-croute or snack at our house.  This gave me the opportunity to empty out as much as I could of the refrigerators.  We just loaded the table with wine, food and eating paraphernalia and went from there.  Top photo, shrimp deviled eggs.

IMG_5327b

Charcuterie

IMG_5351b

 

Duck rillettes

IMG_5377b

Babou’s baba ganoush

IMG_5388b

Olive salad

IMG_5363b

Cherry tomatoes and mixed salad greens.

A first, M. Parret said he didn’t want any cheese!  At first I thought he was extremely ill and that maybe this was the “big one”! Then I remembered all that bread and butter he ate with everything, contrary to the doctor’s orders and poured him a little red to settle his stomach :)

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Casse-Croûte

  1. alifemoment says:

    Wow loved this food! :)

  2. Mad Dog says:

    That’s a feast! I do hope that M. Parret had sneaked in a few slices of cheese with his lunch ;-)

  3. Nice spread and what a lovely bowl holding your mixed green salad.

  4. Emptying the fridge is fun!!

  5. If you’re going to eat butter, make it a good one and make sure you can see your teeth marks when you bite into the bread and butter – I am sure M. Parret and I would agree on this ;) Gorgeous casse-croute!

  6. Michelle says:

    Whew! I was worried about M. Parret for a minute there.

  7. Amanda says:

    Wow what a feast. Amazing.

Leave a Reply

