Apocalypse Now

IMG_5498b

Stuttgart… s**t, I’m still only in Stuttgart…  Everytime I think I’m going to wake up in Sens.

I knew pack out was coming and that I would have to come back to Germany rather sooner than later.  Talking about denial!  You’ve never seen so much procrastination, foot dragging and whining!  I’m almost, but not quite, ashamed :D

IMG_5472b

Of course when I got here, the refrigerators, not the freezers (they were still stocked from my last visit from France), were bare.  The only veg in the house was a box of frozen green beans from the commissary.  And the way my husband “rolls” when I’m not at home is colorful, to say the least.

IMG_5402b

From the profusion of packaged noodles in the pantry, I determined that my darling must have been craving Asian cuisine.  Problem was, I’m out of Asian noodles and don’t want to buy anything like that with pack out looming.  In addition, I didn’t have carrots, or bell peppers or scallions that I usually use when making noodles.  Long story short, I boiled some spaghetti and added Oriental flavorings.  This was better than it sounds and I made a lot so that he can have some in his bento box this week.

IMG_5414b

I have an obscene amount of duck in the freezers and I decided to start working through some of that first.  I seasoned four large duck legs with salt, pepper and 5 spice powder and let them sit around for about an hour.

IMG_5437b

Before taking these to the grill, I steamed them for 30 minutes in a dumpling steamer.  I have twice cooked duck legs before and like the results.

IMG_5449b

The oven is clean and will remain so until we move from here.  It’s grill time baby :D

IMG_5460b

I thinned some of my favorite jarred char sui sauce with water to make a light glaze.

IMG_5486b

Satisfied!  Although I will be vegetable shopping tomorrow.  Woman can not live by packaged noodles and frozen vegetables alone.

IMG_5522b

Asian Fried Spaghetti

2 tbsp vegetable oil

2 shallots, thinly sliced

3 garlic cloves, thinly sliced

2 tbsp fish sauce

1 tbsp soy sauce

2 tbsp sake

4 -6 tbsp sweet chilli sauce

1 pkg of dried spaghetti, cooked with 1/4 cup of the cooking liquid reserved

In a wok, soften the shallots and garlic in the vegetable oil.  Add the fish sauce, soy sauce, sake and chilli sauce, then boil for 2 minutes.

Add the cooked spaghetti and fry, adding the water a little at a time.

 

Char Sui Glazed Duck Legs

4 duck legs

Salt and pepper

Chinese 5 spice powder

1/4 cup char sui sauce, thinned with a little water

Season the duck legs with salt, pepper and the  5 spice powder and set aside for at least an hour.  Steam the duck legs for 30 minutes.

Preheat the grill to 450 F, turn off one side of the grill and put the legs on the cold side, skin side down for 20 minutes, turn and cook for another 20 minutes, top down.

Brush the legs with the sauce, then cook for an additional 20 minutes, brushing with the sauce and turning every 5 minutes.

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Asian, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Apocalypse Now

  1. Mad Dog says:

    That sounds great! I’m sure you can’t possibly have an obscene amount of duck – it’s probably just the right amount ;-)

  2. That’s grilling to perfection! Gorgeous.

  3. The duck looks and sounds great. You got to get out of Stuttgart…think “The Great Escape”…sit in a corner and start throwing and catching:)

  4. kathysimmons says:

    When someone can make SOMETHING from NOTHING, this is a real chef. One can never recover from Germany after France, so forget that. That just makes you a trooper-first-class. Throw some beer into this feast for the “man of the house” and for god’s sakes DO NOT MAKE HIM A BENTO BOX. He can make his own. He’s old enough. How much shall we bet he had those same noodles in his office. YOU are shipping out…!!!! Jessie deserves more attention and a doggie bento. Meanwhile, I love you and that hubby and the absentee’s in this recipe.

  5. I love the way you make do and mend and I love what you conjure up with (as mad Dog says…) the right amount of duck!

  6. I use spaghetti noodles all the time to make Asian-style dishes. I don’t feel so bad now. Woman definitely needs more than packaged noodles and frozen veggies. Not saying a lot more, just more. :-)

    • The Italian pasta noodle has a different taste/texture from the Asian noodle. I would have liked to have an udon or somen with this but it wasn’t wrong or anything and tasted good, just a bit different.

  7. Michelle says:

    I’d travel to Germany for those duck legs!

  8. KhoaSinclair says:

    Looks great! What a good use of instant noodles.

    http://www.khoasinclair.co

  9. Reblogged this on anggi anggreni and commented:
    nyams

  10. I knew I was going to have dinner envy as soon as I saw that effing photo was some tasty assed looking duck… and then you tell me you have an abundance of duck… and then you go and get some five spice in there and now I’m freaking out!!!!!

    Damn fine looking meal my friend… I really need to get some duck back into my life…

    Smiley face.

  11. reggiorif says:

    Simply beautiful!

  12. Love this post! Amazingly delicious

Leave a Reply

