Salmon, Cabbage and Fennel

IMG_5121b

So many things going on in my life, I’m a little distracted.  I attended the fantastic Sens Medieval Fair over the weekend and have so many pictures that it’s going to take me a while to get them into a post.  I’m picking up my puppy Jessie tomorrow and am stressing a bit about getting her acclimated before we take off for Germany.

IMG_5107b

I bought some lovely salmon fillets from the fish market and couldn’t think about how I wanted to cook them.  In the nick of time, Chica Andaluza posted a fantastic recipe for griddled scallops and smoked salmon with a dressing that I admired.  I re-purposed the dressing as a marinade but didn’t have any lemon so I substituted with lime juice.  Mah-velous.  Thank you Chica :)

Salmon, Cabbage and Fennel

4 salmon fillets, skin on

2 tbsp olive oil

1 tbsp sesame oil

1 tsp nuoc mam

1 tbsp rice wine vinegar

1 garlic clove, crushed

Juice of 1/2 lime

1 tsp honey

Salt and pepper

1 tbsp olive oil

1/2 cup lardons/diced bacon

1/4 red onion, thinly sliced

2 small fennel bulbs, thinly sliced

1/2 small savoy cabbage, shredded

1/3 tsp fennel seeds

2 tsp honey

Mix the 2 tbsp olive oil, sesame oil, nuoc man, rice vinegar, garlic clove, lime juice, 1 tsp honey, salt and pepper together.  Put the salmon fillets in a zip lock bag and pour the marinade inside.  Squish around and allow to marinate for about 1 hour.

In the meantime, make the stir fry.  Heat the tablespoon of olive oil in a wok and add the bacon, then cook until the bacon begins to brown.  Add the onion and fennel, then cook until the fennel is tender.  Add the cabbage and cook just to wilt.  Remove from the flame and stir in the fennel seeds and honey.

Remove the salmon from the marinade and sear in a hot skillet until cooked to taste, turning every 2 minutes.  Serve with the cabbage.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Asian, Cooking, fish, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes, Spanish and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Salmon, Cabbage and Fennel

  1. Laurin Lindsey says:

    Sounds delicious, putting this one in my files! I love salmon, fennel and cabbage…never thought of them in the same meal! Thank you!

  2. Mad Dog says:

    Nice repurposing – I’m looking forward to seeing the Sens Medieval Fair :-)

  3. Cynthia says:

    This sounds wonderful. I’ve been wanting to cook with fennel. ;)

  4. It’s good to be busy, Rosemary! A delicious and different dish here, lovely!

  5. laurasmess says:

    That looks seriously amazing. I love salmon and I’m always looking for new ways to cook it… this looks perfect for my next salmon adventure! I’m loving the cabbage, fennel and bacon combination. Delish!

  6. Ooh love what you did here! And fingers crossed that Jessie settles in quickly…how exciting, a puppy in the house!

  7. Christina says:

    This sounds amazing! I can’t get enough of salmon lately…
    Christina
    http://www.foodiewithalife.com

  8. Reblogged this on awesomerecipe and commented:
    the best dish ever

  9. Nice combo my friend. Cabbage and fennel is the goods!

  10. An excellent repurpose! Love the sound of this dish.

  11. Conor Bofin says:

    I haven’t cooked any fennel in a while. We eat salmon at least once a week. Time to put this recipe to good use.

Leave a Reply

