Monkfish with Leeks

IMG_4186b

Our son has left and I’ve cleaned out the refrigerator to make more room for things I’m sure to buy.  I’ve got a couple of recipes I want to try from the French Saveurs magazine.  I wish M. Parret would hurry up and finish his knee re-education!  Champagne and Cremant guzzling has lost it’s savor without him :(

IMG_4171b

Anyway, the ‘monger advertised fresh, monk fish tails from Brittany that were gorgeous and I had some leeks, etc.  So I just did the “necessaire”.

Monkfish with Leeks

2 monkfish fillets, cut into 4-6 individual servings

Salt and pepper

2 tbsp olive oil

3 tbsp butter

4 shallots, sliced vertically

3 leeks halved, rinsed and sliced

1/2 cup white wine

2 tbsp fresh tarragon, coarsely chopped

3/4 cup chicken broth

1 tbsp tomato paste

1 pinch nutmeg

Salt and pepper to taste

Season the fillets with salt and pepper, then brown in the olive oil and 1 tbsp of butter. Remove the fish and set aside.  Wash and dry the skillet, then melt the remaining 2 tbsp butter in the skillet, add the shallots and leeks, saute until the leeks are tender.

Add the wine and tarragon and boil for about 2 minutes until the liquid is reduced by half. Add the broth, tomato paste, nutmeg, salt and pepper.  Return the fish to the skillet and simmer, partially covered for about 10 minutes.

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, fish, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Monkfish with Leeks

  1. Monlfish is my favorite fish. I usually cook it “light” with fresh green pepper corns, whiskey and crème fraiche – your recipe looks like a much healthier option!

  2. Rörschåch says:

    Hello! How are you? Oh my. Doesn’t that monkfish look stunning? You made it look so inviting. Lovely photography, as always.

  3. Looks absolutely delicious!

  4. One of my culinary instructors back in school used to call monkfish the “Poor Mans Lobster” it really is delicious!

  5. kathysimmons says:

    DROOL. Now that your (incredible) son has left, I’m cleaning out my fridge TOO!!! With an itty bitty little tear.

  6. Mad Dog says:

    Monkfish is wonderful – great favour and no little bones!
    I’m sorry to hear how much you miss M. Parret, but in some ways that’s good, you’ll have a lot of cooking to catch up on. I hope he’s doing well :-)

  7. freshchefcarol says:

    This went right on my weekly menu that I’m creating today. Looks perfect. And as the college year just wrapped up for my 18 year old daughter, I am thinking of you and yours with optimism & fondness.

    Carol Hargis

  8. Never tasted a monkfish before. Will have to try. You dish and recipes look delicious!

  9. oh how i love monkfish!!!!

  10. have to say monkfish is one of my favorites also great natural photos!

  11. I haven’t cooked monkfish for quite a while…nice recipe.

  12. Stunning. I adore monkfish, but I tend to make curries with it. Good to learn a new way of cooking it. Here is the link for henri the existential cat. http://www.henrilechatnoir.com. Hope it gives you as many laughs as I have had. Emma xx

  13. Reblogged this on Ace Food and Health News 2014 and commented:
    #AFHN2014

  14. Conor Bofin says:

    Beautiful as usual Rosemary. Interesting that depending on the device I am looking on I get a different featured image. Both are lovely anyway.

  15. I have been looking for a recipe for monkfish. I could not find it for a while I think because it is so ugly people are afraid of it, but we have a new market and they have it on sale. I am going to give it a try.

    Madonna
    MakeMineLemon

  16. Looks amazing – love monkfish!

  17. Pingback: The Roundup

  18. Pingback: The Roundup - Wellness Alliance

Leave a Reply

