Souris d’Agneau

IMG_4126b

I’ve been looking at two, aged, drying out lamb shanks in my freezer, it seems like forever. I wonder when and where I bought them….

IMG_4098b

Thank God for Greg at Rufus Guide for his inspirational sauce with Italian sausages.  I didn’t use the anchovies because I didn’t have any, but I would have.  For the real recipe, visit the link.

IMG_4111b

I had some link Italian sausages, fresh basil and oregano.  Actually I should have added a little fennel seed but I will next time, along with the anchovies.  Thanks Greg!

Lamb Shanks with Tagliatelle

2 tbsp olive oil

2 lamb shanks, seasoned with salt and pepper

2 small onions, halved and thinly sliced

3-4 garlic cloves, thinly sliced

3/4 lb Italian sausage links, casings removed

2 tbsp fresh oregano, chopped

2 tbsp fresh basil, chopped

1 bay leaf

1/2 cup red wine

2 cans diced tomatoes

3 tbsp tomato paste

1 cup water

Salt and pepper

1 lb tagliatelle, cooked

Brown the lamb shanks in the olive oil, remove and set aside.  Saute the onions and garlic in the same pan/pot until soft.  Add the sausage meat, oregano and basil, then saute until the sausage meat is cooked.  Add the bay leaf and red wine and boil for 2 minutes.  Add the diced tomatoes, tomato paste, water, salt and pepper to taste, bring to a boil, then simmer for 1 1/2 – 2 hours until the shanks are very tender.  Serve with the tagliatelle.

Wine suggestion:  Moulin a Vent

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Italian, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Souris d’Agneau

  1. Oh my, that is stunning – beautifully presented!

  2. alifemoment says:

    Yummy tagliatelle with lamb, loved the recipe! :)

  3. Mad Dog says:

    Sounds delicious, but I couldn’t see the mouse and therefore looked it up ;-)
    From French Wikipedia:
    The lamb shank is the piece of meat and muscle around the tibia of the rear leg of the lamb. The oval shape of this muscle explains the name ” mouse “.

  4. Jody and Ken says:

    Very nice. Clever idea to combine the shanks with the sausage. Perfect food for our (freezing) spring. Are shanks called “smiles” in French? Thanks. Ken

  5. Thanks for this recipe – I’ve got a rolled breast of lamb in my freezer that needs a lot of long, slow cooking to make it tender. I think you’ve just given me the ideal sauce for it!

  6. Wonderful – loved Greg’s recipe and love your version too!

  7. hoytapeo says:

    Really? I can’t believe it , but it looks fantastic!

  8. Well done. A lovely sauce that I might have to try with some lamb I have in the freezer as well. :)

  9. Conor Bofin says:

    Another cracker Rosemary. How do you do it? So many delicious dishes.

  10. I would eat the shit out of that!!

  11. We’re out of anchovies too. That is one great looking piece of meat. Glad we could inspire you!

  12. Mary Frances says:

    I’ve never tried combining lamb and sausage. It sounds interesting!

  13. Perfect! I have 2 lamb shanks in the freezer. They were just waiting for this recipe!

  14. Wow. My kind of comfort food. Emma xx

Leave a Reply

