Crispy Red Mullet with Herbs

IMG_3853b

While cruising by the fish market I heard tiny little fish voices calling out to me; “Hello, hey you American, look at us”, but it was in French.  So I did.  I saw the prettiest little red mullets, so fresh that they were still gasping for air and able to talk.  What could I do?  I took them home for closer scrutiny.  And cooking.

IMG_3820b

The recipe is one I’ve used for fresh sardines.  Make sure the fish monger or somebody scales and guts the fish correctly, then look here.  Before that, make my homemade tartar sauce.

IMG_3899b

Tartar Sauce

1/2 cup cornichons, finely chopped

2 spring onions, finely chopped

5 drops Sriracha sauce

1 tsp lemon juice

1 tbsp Dijon mustard

1 cup mayonnaise

Salt and pepper to taste

To make the tartar sauce, mix together the cornichons, onions, Sriracha, lemon juice, mustard, mayonnaise, salt and pepper, then refrigerate.

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Appetizer, Cooking, fish, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Crispy Red Mullet with Herbs

  1. sarah1145 says:

    Wow! Looks so fresh and delicious, will definitely try it next time we get our hands on some fish! Thanks for sharing! :)

    http://fromayoungfoodie.wordpress.com

  2. Mad Dog says:

    I can just imagine the little cries of, “Mangez moi.”

  3. Gorgeous and I love the tartare sauce recipe!

  4. Those things look effing tasty. I love whole fried fish! I am also impressed with the addition of sriracha in your tartar. Very nice.

  5. Amanda says:

    OMG this is one of the best looking things I’ve seen you make and you certainly make wonderful stuff. I’m a sucker for fish though. I used to be a fish monger after school for a few years during high school. That tartar sauce is so great! Love the heat. I may have to do something similar this week.

  6. Delicious….the problem is finding red mullet that are fat and juicy and not bony little buggers:)

  7. Karen says:

    Fried fish and homemade tartar sauce…that’s good food. Hope you had a nice Mother’s Day.

  8. Thank you Karen. I did have a nice Mother’s Day :)

Leave a Reply

