Tenderon de Veau Braise

IMG_3666b

Veal tenderon is either the middle breast portion or the flank.  Who knows?  I’ve seen two different translations.  They looked like really thick and wide sliced bacon.  In any case, when I was at the market this morning with Babou I saw this cut and asked her about it’s preparation.  She told me that it was a very tasty cut and that it was usually browned then braised.  Sounded good to me.

IMG_3606b

My son bemoaned the fact that the tendron is a fatty cut but, when it was cooked, he ate it anyway.  That’s all we ask :)

IMG_3562b

With visiting M. Parret at the hospital, attending the annual Sens fair, coffee with the girls, restaurants and a visit from my husband, I have been shopping and cooking but haven’t taken many pictures.  I did make the muffuletta sandwich but that was gone before I could think to take the picture.  I’ll make another one.  I baked the bread.  Kitchenaid :)

IMG_3584b

I had one of those “I want everything” kind of days at the market.  That’s okay.  The vendors were so pleased!  I’m just a little ray of sunshine, spreading/shedding love and euros in my path :D

IMG_3610b

Last week I bought some fresh peas and little onions but forgot about them until I heard their moans from the refrigerator when I opened the door.

IMG_3632b

Yeah buddy!  I browned these babies in goose fat first, then braised them in a thyme/bay leaf/garlic tomato sauce.  Like whatever.  An Emile Henry tajine with top works well for this recipe.  If not, a large skillet with cover.

Braised Veal Tendron

6 slices of veal tendron, about 2 lbs

Salt and pepper

2 tbsp goose/duck fat

2 cups shelled fresh peas

1/2 lb fresh little onions (pearl?), blanched and skins removed

2 large garlic cloves, crushed

6 sprigs of fresh thyme

1 large bay leaf

1/3 cup red wine

1 cup tomato sauce

1 cup veal/chicken broth

Season the veal with salt and pepper, then brown in the goose fat.  Remove from the pan and set aside.  Add the peas, onions and garlic to the pan, then brown for 2-3 minutes.  Stir in the thyme, bay leaf and the wine, then boil for 2 minutes.  Stir in the tomato sauce and broth, season with salt and pepper, then tuck the pieces of veal into the sauce, bring to a boil, cover and simmer for 45 minutes.

Serve with fresh pasta, rice or potatoes.

Wine suggestion:  Fleurie

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Tenderon de Veau Braise

  1. reggiorif says:

    It’s ages since I’ve had veal tenderon… love your version, the sauce looks deliciously glossy.

  2. Mad Dog says:

    They really do look like pork! Sounds delicious – no fresh peas here yet, but it can’t be long ;-)

  3. Yep. Love it. It’s coming into braising time of year for us down here… it’s what winter is all about!!

  4. Laure says:

    That looks really good and I love your pictures.

  5. Wonderful ingredients! Looks fabulous!

  6. Goodness gracious, this looks super yum. Love how rich this meal is!

  7. kathysimmons says:

    Now I understand why your son didn’t eat that saucisson Lyonnaise (yummy fat, not!). PS the butcher gave me tendron as one of 3 different veal cuts for blanquette de veau Rose.

Leave a Reply

