Olive Salad for Muffuletta

IMG_3495b

I’ve been thinking about New Orleans muffuletta sandwiches a lot!  And really, I’ve been thinking about the muffuletta olive salad which is delicious.  You can just put it on a piece of bread or mound it on salad greens and it’s a meal.  There you go, vegetarians!  Don’t say I never think about you :)

IMG_3487b

Somebody, I think Arielle, gave me some French olive oil which was a good thing because my regular Italian olive oil is on low.  I must make a list and go shopping soon!  I think my morale must be low.  Anyway, it was good olive oil and I’m grateful for the gift.

The salad should sit in the refrigerator for a day or two before use.  I put some in jars so that I could share some with my friends :)

Coming soon:  New Orleans Muffuletta Sandwich

Olive Salad

2 cans pimento stuffed green olives, drained and coarsely chopped

1 can black olives, stoned, drained and coarsely chopped

16 ounce jar of roasted red peppers, drained and coarsely chopped

12 ounce jar of Giardiniera , drained and coarsely chopped

3 tbsp capers, chopped

5 garlic cloves, minced

1 tbsp oregano

1 tsp crushed red pepper

Salt and pepper to taste

1 cup olive oil

Mix all together and store in jars or whatever in the refrigerator for at least 24 hours.

 

 

 

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Italian, Main dishes, Recipes, Salad and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Olive Salad for Muffuletta

  1. stretchnseal123 says:

    Hey I love your blog, I think the imagery is beautiful. I would like to nominate you for The Liebster Award. Click here to find out more: http://stretchnseal123.wordpress.com/2014/05/01/the-liebster-award/

  2. Jess says:

    I’ve always wanted to try to a muffuletta, but never have as of yet. The salad for it here looks really delicious. Great, colorful photos :-)

    • Thank you Jess. It’s quick and easy and delicious. If you make it all you have to do is add some cold cuts and cheese to bread with the salad and you’ve got the idea.

  3. I’m regretting missing out on trying a muffuletta when we were in NOLA…but there were so many delicious things to eat and so little time to eat them in!

  4. I love this salad almost as much as I love that word muffuletta – now I need to go and find out what it is!

  5. Amanda says:

    I love Muffulettas. So yummy. I always go back to Central Grocery to get one when I’m Nola! I never really thought of eating this alone as a salad or side. Yum!

  6. bfg67 says:

    Great recipe, definitely going to make this especially as my wife made loads of giardiniera! How long would it last in the fridge?

  7. That jar of olive-y goodness wouldn’t last long around here. I’m trying this shit for sure!!

  8. Linda Duffin says:

    Thanks for this – as an ignorant Brit I keep reading about olive salads on American blogs but yours is the first I’ve seen that actually gives a recipe! Sounds like one to try …

  9. reggiorif says:

    Sounds really flavourful!

  10. whipadish says:

    Looks like you have another winner! :)

  11. Ayesha says:

    this looks like a wonderful salad! :)

  12. Yum! Looks like a full meal to me!

  13. Mlle Latino says:

    Coucou, j’ouvre aujourd’hui mon blog “Interview des blogueurs” Si tu souhaites être interviewé et voir apparaitre un article sur ton blog, n’hésite pas à venir lire les conditions ici:

    http://interviewblogueur.wordpress.com/2014/05/02/concept/

    J’espère te voir au plus vite, Mélissa

  14. This looks delicious and I’m always looking for different vegetarian dishes for those in my family that don’t eat meat.

  15. Pingback: Okay, I Baked | Cooking in Sens

  16. Pingback: Chicken Muffuletta Recipe | Nosh My Way

Leave a Reply

