M. Parret Makes a Veal Roast

IMG_3036b

Back in the day when M. and Mme Parret had the cheese shop they would also sell fresh milk, measured out in half liters, liters, whatever the customer wanted.  Michel and Monique were eating lunch with us on Tuesday and Michel wanted a Ricard.  Le Parret gave me a half liter milk cup to fill with cold water so that Michel could create  “la louche” with his drink.

IMG_2999b

It wasn’t as if he didn’t have a nice water pitcher exactly for this purpose in his cabinet!  We wrangled back and forth until I threatened to tell the world that he served a Ricard with a milk cup.  I won, but I want this cup :D

IMG_3139b

M. Parret is going into the hospital on Monday to have an operation on his knees, so this was one of many  “last” lunches and dinners before he is himself again.  We began with radishes and butter.

IMG_2983b

Boy howdy!  He’s going to be very grumpy about the hospital/invalid food.  I don’t think there’ll be a wine list :D

IMG_3012b

Monique made a scrumptious Quiche Lorraine for our entree.  Too bad this picture reminds me of Betty Crocker Cookbook 1951.

IMG_3022b

These were frozen potatoes for frying that M. Parret bought at Picard, even though he was in the market this morning and they had all kinds of potatoes.  I told him I wouldn’t tell anybody, but I lied :)

IMG_3049b

Poor M. Parret.  He’s going to be in the hospital for 2 whole weeks!  I’ll miss him.  Here he is explaining to Michel the difference between the American and French palate after I laughed at his potatoes.

IMG_3080b

He was a little nervous about his veal roast but it was perfection!  The carrots just right.

IMG_3055b

Then we had salad.  I wanted mine with the cheese but I didn’t want to instigate another lack of palate lecture :D

IMG_3068b

Of course the cheese was, as always, exceptional; comte, camembert, epoisse and the creamiest, richest Roquefort I’ve ever tasted!

IMG_3103b

Not over yet, we had M. Parret’s “creme”.  This was probably his best one yet.  No raisins.

IMG_3115b

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Cooking, Dessert, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to M. Parret Makes a Veal Roast

  1. Nice radishes… I’m just awaiting my invite! We’re coming over to France in Sept, but are staying in Toulouse/Pyrenees area. Can’t wait though… I’ve only been to Paris before.

  2. chefconnie says:

    Fabulous picture. You had a cheese shop! I am a serious “Curd Nerd”. Sounds like this was a fun get together.

  3. Hope the knee surgery goes well…two weeks is a long time in the hospital! What a meal!

  4. Mad Dog says:

    I don’t get the radish and butter thing – I’ve tried it a few times and it’s not for me.
    I love that cup too! Lovely lunch – I hope there will be some food smuggling to M. Parret in hospital to keep his strength up ;-)

  5. kathysimmons says:

    Quiche foto definitely a cut above Betty Crocker’s Rose. Eating radishes with butter is just an excuse to eat BUTTER. I’d drop the radishes. Mr Parret will surely miss you more than the food.

  6. KhoaSinclair says:

    Delish roast! And YUM Camebert is the best. Just so creamy but not too intense.

    http://www.khoasinclair.co

  7. I think I love that guy and the food you pair eat! Wish him a speedy recovery for me :).
    Cracking photos as per usual.
    Smiley face.

  8. Trish says:

    haha! No, Americans don’t have a sophisticated palate, but only an American can make that declaration! I adore gourmet cheese ( or as the French would say, ‘cheese’), but i admit to a secret, shameful love of Velveeta for grilled cheese. I do at least use rye bread and homemade pickles, which maybe would redeem me in the eyes of the French? no, I didn’t think so.

  9. Michelle says:

    I hope you can sneak food into French hospitals.

  10. Karen says:

    Wish M. Parret a speedy recovery. I agree with you, I don’t think he will be a very good patient. I know the two of you will miss your delicious meals together until he has recovered.

  11. Pauvre M. Parret – wish him well for his operation. He’ll soon be back with you enjoying wonderful meals with you!

  12. You always have the tastiest looking meat.

  13. Looks like yet another wonderful meal!! Good to see the label of the Roquefort – it’s the one I’ve just bought two large chunks of and it is definitely a very good one! I hope that the op goes well! At some point the French hospitals in our area used to serve wine with their lunchtime meals, fingers crossed for Mr. Parrett that this still continues, and if you bring him meals on wheels….

Leave a Reply

