Shrimp and Sausage Stuffed Calamari

IMG_2744b

At some point when I was shopping in Stuttgart, I found a bag of enormous calamari tubes at the Italian grocery store.  My idea was to stuff them with some of the store’s fabulous looking sausage.  However, overtaken by life events, I forgot all about the calamari until yesterday when my husband said, pointedly, “There’s all that squid in the freezer.”  I pretended not to hear him because I wanted to make an Irish pork roast today.  He persisted, “You’re going back to France AGAIN and I don’t know how to cook squid.” Okay, okay.  He said the same darn thing about the shrimp, so that’s why this is stuffed with both sausage and shrimp.  Good idea.  Thanks for the inspiration,  Honey :)

IMG_2688b

These calamari tubes were really big, about the size of an obese quail when stuffed.  You could make this recipe with smaller tubes and just cook them for a shorter time in the oven.

IMG_2712b

I recommend that you use a homemade tomato sauce (olive oil, onions, garlic, tomatoes, basil, oregano, red wine) to cover the calamari as it bakes and some extra for the linguine.

IMG_2718b

This was very good.  Next time I’m going to double the garlic in my tomato sauce :)

IMG_2729b

Shrimp and Sausage Stuffed Calamari

2 tbsp olive oil

6 Italian sausages, casing removed

1 cup shrimp, finely chopped

1/2 cup bread crumbs

1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese

1/2 cup chicken broth

2 tbsp parsley, chopped

5 enormous calamari tubes or 10-12 normal ones

4 cups homemade tomato sauce

1 lb linguine, cooked

Brown the sausage meat in the olive oil, then remove with a slotted spoon to a large mixing bowl.  Remove all but 2 tbsp of the oil from the skillet and set aside.

Add the shrimp, bread crumbs, cheese, chicken broth and parsley to the sausage meat in the bowl and mix well.  Stuff the calamari tubes with this mixture, closing off the large ends with wooden skewers.

Reheat the reserved oil in the skillet and brown the stuffed calamari on both sides, then place in a baking dish.

If there is any leftover stuffing, add it to the tomato sauce and heat.  Pour 2 cups of the sauce over the calamari, then place in a 400 F oven for 25 minutes (maybe 15-20 for smaller tubes).

Toss the remaining tomato sauce with the cooked linguine, slice the calamari and serve immediately.

Wine suggestion:  Masi Amarone

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, fish, Food and Wine, Italian, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

58 Responses to Shrimp and Sausage Stuffed Calamari

  1. Now that is good….really good strong flavours.

  2. Mad Dog says:

    That sounds yummy – I bet that would be good with a bit of cajun seasoning too ;-)

  3. Lisa says:

    Such fantastic ingredients! I love calarmari – haven’t had it in far too long. Combined with sausage and shrimp, though – sounds divine. I love this dish!

  4. jnewhart says:

    Reblogged this on Cajun Food, Louisiana History, and a Little Lagniappe and commented:
    A great recipe! Give it a try!

  5. cecilia says:

    This is a wonderful combo.. such inspiration for me, my cooking has taken a decided downturn as I await the spring greens.. c.. c

  6. Oh wow. Those are huge! Nice.

  7. acasadisimi says:

    yummy! fanic recipe!

  8. Conor Bofin says:

    Excellent use of the squids. They look lovely.

  9. very beautiful dish! I haven’t had stuffed calamari in ages!!! why!?! :)

  10. Oh yes! Now that looks good. I’m surprised the husband hasn’t picked up a few tips and tricks. Also, tomato sauce does need a lot of garlic :D

  11. I effing love it! You can never have too much garlic in a pasta sauce!

  12. AgileWriter says:

    Shrimp and Sausage is an excellent combination..I’ll surely try

  13. Great dish though I think Hubby should get the credit for inspiration :) That stuffing looks superb.

  14. Thank you Phil. He got to eat it :)

  15. I always just stuff mine with a bread crumb mix. These look wonderful.

  16. kathysimmons says:

    Mouth watering. Where do the Germans find those whale sized honkers? Or are we, in France, going to have to make a special trip there instead?

  17. jjbiener says:

    This is exactly what love to read about. A fantastic dish made out of just what happens to be on hand. I end up doing that a lot in my house. That said, I am going to have to make it a point to get the ingredients for this dish. It sounds wonderful.

  18. Terry says:

    What I want t know is how you take such fab pics of your food

  19. Roger taught me to use the manual camera settings. He says that when you use automatic then the camera chooses what’s important in the subject and that when you shoot manually, you please yourself and sometimes others :) Make your vegetables/side dish first, eat some, make the rest of the meal, arrange your plate, then take the photo. Always works for me :D

  20. It looks delicious , thanks for your sharing.

  21. Karen says:

    My husband’s mother used to make stuffed calamari but never with sausage added to it…they sound wonderful.

    • Very good. I’m going to try this with smaller, fresh calamari from the fishmonger, probably without the sausage. I don’t want to overwhelm the fresh flavor.

      • Karen says:

        She used small calamari about 3 inches long and stuffed them with the chopped up legs, breadcrumbs, lemon juice and parsley and then cooked them in red sauce like you did.

  22. judy says:

    Hi! this looks fabulous! Is there any chance you could email me your recipe for your tomato sauce? I am not that good at making a good sauce..would love to try yours! Thank you very much!

  23. Pingback: Pasta Aglio with Shrimps | Pasta, Polvoron and Popcorn

Leave a Reply

