Babou’s Mustard

IMG_2572b

At our last coffee meeting before I left Sens, Babou, with tears gushing, handed me an empty jar and sobbed, “Since you’re going to Germany, could you bring me a jar of this mustard?”  This reminded me so much of our sojourn in Haiti when we were on our friend’s 36 foot yacht.  Whenever anyone went “below” where the bathroom and kitchen was located, someone would always say, “While you’re below” bring me a beer or wine or whatever.

IMG_2393b

So anyway, I popped the empty jar in my purse and when I went to the German butcher on Friday, I saw the mustard.  The problem was that the jars were smaller and there were different labels.  I asked the butcher about this (his English was excellent) and he said it didn’t matter, it was all the same as long as you ate the mustard with white sausages.

IMG_2381b

Well, you know me.  It’s like, okay, do you have any white sausages?  How do you cook them?  Apparently, you never boil them.  You boil the water, take it off the flame and then drop the sausages in for 20 minutes.  That didn’t sound or look right to me, my husband or my son.  I did the 20 minute thing but then I browned them a bit in butter.

IMG_2420b

The sausages are made of milk fed veal, mace, parsley and probably non fat dry milk.  Kind of like an English banger, but with a bit more flavor.  The mustard which is a little sweet helps but we all agreed we could give these a pass.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, German, Main dishes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Babou’s Mustard

  1. jmcheney says:

    In Milwaukee, Wisconsin, where we were once “stationed” for several years when young, they called these bratwursts & split them & sauteed somewhat browner open faced down in bubbling beer & butter. Then served with a delicious spicy German mustard (that may have had carraway seeds & horseradish added), warm potato salad, sauerkraut, & pickled beets & onions. I remember this as very fine, delicious fare with foamy draft beer, of long summer evening backyard picnics.

  2. Conor Bofin says:

    I admire you posting food that you would not bother with again Rosemary.

  3. That is our favorite German mustard. They finally sell it in America, though not where we are. The only difference is the label is in English here.

  4. KhoaSinclair says:

    Very cool, would be an interesting marinade.

    http://www.khoasinclair.co

  5. Karen says:

    It may sound funny Rosemary, but I like mild tasting weisswurst and spicy mustard. When my husband has ordered them in Munich, they come in a big white tureen filled with warm water. You are traditionally not suppose to eat the casing.

  6. Sacrilege, Rosemary!! How could you fry the Weisswurst?? :-) Having been born in Munich and grown up in Bavaria I’m deeply disappointed – well, almost ;) Definitely the right thing to do is just to warm them, never let them get too hot or the skins will simply burst. They are best eaten right after they have been scaled at the butchers – my uncle used to have a butcher’s shop and every Friday they would be freshly made – there’s nothing like it, with a fresh pretzel or roll and a beer! But every butcher has his closely guarded recipe, and some are definitely better than others. They should be light in texture (almost fluffy), with a hint of lemon, some parsley, and if you get really good ones, the mustard is definitely not necessary. Most are made of 100% pork. Glad the mustard has made it to the US, it started out as a cottage industry a long time ago…

  7. Sorry midi, my men refused to eat them without some color :D

  8. Mad Dog says:

    Don’t knock the English banger until you tried some good ones, which I can assure you have lots of flavour (probably a lot more than those Weisswurst).

Leave a Reply

